Mozarella Stuffed Meatloaf

IMG_6120  IMG_6121 IMG_6122As a kid, I was never a big fan of meatloaf.  But that all changed when I discovered a recipe for mozzarella stuffed meatloaf.  I like to call it meatloaf surprise!

Mix

1 pound of ground meat, 1 1/2 – 2 cups of Italian bread crumbs, one chopped onion, one minced garlic clove, one egg, 1/2  – 3/4 cup pizza sauce (depending on the amount of bread crumbs you like)

Press the ground meat mixture out on a cutting board.  In the center of the rectangle, put 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese.  Sprinkle parmesan and parsley flakes on top of that.  Roll the edges of the rectangle toward the center and pinch the ends shut enclosing the cheese in the center.    Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees.  After 50 minutes, you can drizzle a bit of pizza sauce and sprinkle a bit of cheese on top and run in the oven for the last 10 min – for a bit of pizzaz!  Enjoy!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in nutrition/food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mozarella Stuffed Meatloaf

  1. rosalyn2012 says:

    Sounds really yummy! I stuff mine with canned mushrooms, cheese and chopped ham. It made meatloaf an acceptable dish for Chad and Chip growing up. I think I’ll try yours next time I do it!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    My mouth is watering! I’m about to clip your recipe into my Evernote recipe notebook. I can’t wait to try it out. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

