Reflections on Today’s Readings, Sunday, July 6th, 2014

I don’t know if this kind of reflection will be helpful to anyone.  If it is not, I apologize.  I’ve been feeling under the weather, and it’s the best I can muster.  I will highlight the verses that struck me in the readings today and tell you what I thought or questioned when I came upon them.

Rejoice heartily, O daughter Zion,
shout for joy, O daughter Jerusalem!
See, your king shall come to you;

Our King did not summon us and demand our presence in His court.  He is an amazing, wonderful King who deigned to come into the world as a human – a poor baby – cold and frail.  Our King came to us in Bethlehem, and continues to come to us today in the Most Holy Sacrament of the altar – the Eucharist.  Words cannot express the greatness of such a loving & humble – yet oh so majestic King.

His dominion shall be from sea to sea.

The Lord is in control.  He reigns from one end of the earth to the other.  There is nothing that escapes His notice.  There is nothing that happens to us that He does not allow. In the uncertainty of the world we live in today, it is such a comforting thought to remember that God is in control at all times and everywhere!

I will extol you, O my God and King,
and I will bless your name forever and ever.
Every day will I bless you,
and I will praise your name forever and ever.

In the Old Testament, God’s name was considered so holy that His name could not be spoken, and even had to be “abbreviated” by a symbol in order to be written down.  In 2014, God’s precious name is used as a curse word on a daily basis in the entertainment industry, in the workplace and in many homes.  If it is not used to curse, it is often used very carelessly or casually.  We so need a healthy fear of the Lord these days – a want for His blessing.  We need to Love Him and treat His name with respect.  Keeping His name Holy is a commandment!  When did we become complacent about keeping the commandments – as if they were optional?

The LORD lifts up all who are falling
and raises up all who are bowed down.

I’m counting on it!  I’m excited to be reminded that the Lord lifts up the falling.  It says that He lifts up those who are bowed down – Humility being an important precursor to the rescue.  Hm.

…but if by the Spirit you put to death the deeds of the body,
you will live.

It is so hard to live in this world and at the same time to keep our eyes on the things of heaven.  We are constantly being called to conquer our temptations, our passions, our greed, our pride – those 7 deadly sins.  The good news is that we do not have to do it alone.  The sacraments can give us the grace to grow in virtue and “put to death the deeds of the body.”

“I give praise to you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth,
for although you have hidden these things
from the wise and the learned
you have revealed them to little ones.

I have been blessed to be a teacher for 25 years.  When I read this passage, I always think of the really little ones we have at school – the ones who are innocent, wide-eyed, open, affectionate, trusting, compassionate – before the world has the chance to really “educate” them.   Often the responsibilities of life weigh me down.  I have to take a walk with my camera and spend some time in awe of God’s creation.  Sometimes, I have to play with my youngest in order to get in touch with my inner child.  I know that there have been instances when my kids were babies that they looked up and smiled repeatedly, focusing on a particular spot.  They may have been seeing angels – who knows – their heavenly eyes had not been clouded yet.  The Lord wants us to be that open to Him – trusting and wide-eyed like a child.

No one knows the Son except the Father,
and no one knows the Father except the Son
and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal him.”

This last part always fascinates me – and anyone to whom the Son wishes to reveal Him – Who might that be?  Were those the people He healed back then?  Now?  Is He speaking of people who have visions and hear voices?

“Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened,
and I will give you rest.
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me,
for I am meek and humble of heart;
and you will find rest for yourselves.
For my yoke is easy, and my burden light.”

Rest – yes!  I need that.  I suppose I have more learning to do, however in the school of meekness and humbleness of heart, because I often do not find the yolk easy or the burden light.  I guess that is where more prayer and more frequent reception of the sacraments comes in – aids in lightning that load called life!?

May God Bless You and Yours!

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

