Grape Leaves, Anyone?

IMG_6031 IMG_6030These are simple to make and are delicious!  I wish I’d remembered to take a picture of the finished product, but my gang wiped them all out before I could grab my camera.  They look like little green cigars snuggled next to each other in the baking dish.

Recipe:

Cook 1 1/2 cups of rice (any white, brown, or instant rice you prefer.)

Brown 1 pound of ground meat.  Add your spices: 2 tsp. minced garlic, 1T of dried mint leaves, 2 heaping tsp. of cinnamon, a few cranks of ground black pepper and 1/4c lemon juice.  Mix well.  Then add in your rice.  Mix again.  Spoon onto opened grape leaves (preserved in brine).  Fold the two sides inward, then roll.  Place in olive oil sprayed baking dish.  When dish is full, spray the tops of the grape leaves with olive oil spray, or drizzle with olive oil.  Bake 25 minutes at 375 degrees.  Enjoy – especially good with couscous and naan!

The spice combination sounds gross, I know.  The mint and cinnamon are not at all sweet in the absence of sugar – It’s a unique, yummy flavor!  Caution – do not add salt.  Since the leaves are preserved in brine, if you add salt, your leaves will be too salty.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in nutrition/food, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

