Domestic Diva

IMG_6028   IMG_5929 IMG_5938 IMG_6029What is one of the best things about teaching?  It’s JUNE!  I’m over the moon for JUNE!  No sense of urgency or foreboding as in the sunny month of July – Just June.  It’s the best!

I’ve been enjoying making food truly “from scratch” for my family – something I rarely get to do from August – May.  August through May is all about shortcuts and getting dinner on the table quickly!!

This past week, I’ve made homemade dinner rolls (top),  and granola bars with no high fructose corn syrup or preservatives.  Yay!  (second pic)  I made low carb “chips” from flour tortillas I cut into triangles with a pizza cutter, sprayed lightly with olive oil spray and seasoned with “herbs de Provence.”  (third pic)  Today, it was Toll House cookies which I shamelessly ate three of with a big glass of milk!

Recipes:

Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
1 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Bake at 375 degrees for 9 minutes.

 

Granola Bars

41/2 C of oats, 1C flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1 tsp. vanilla, 2/3 C butter melted, 1/2C honey, 1/3 C brown sugar

Whatever else you want:  chocolate chips, coconut, nuts, dried fruit, etc.  I used dried cranberries, coconut and choc. chips.

Press in greased 9×12 pan.  Bake at 325 degrees for 18-22 min.  Let cool before cutting.

 

A Good Basic Bread Machine Dinner Roll Recipe

1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 C), 2 T white sugar, 2 1/2 tsp. yeast, 1/4C vegetable oil, 3C flour, 1 tsp. salt

Microwave water a minute and 30 sec.  put water, sugar and yeast in bread machine.  Allow yeast to begin to foam for 10 minutes.  Add flour, oil and salt.  Run machine on “Dough” mode.  When timer goes off, knead dough ball for a few minutes.  Bread into little balls and roll in slightly greased hands.  Place dough balls on greased cookie sheet.  Place in a warm place (I preheat my oven to 170, then turn it off and put the dough in.)  Allow dough balls to rise again for about 30 minutes.  Turn oven to 350 and bake until lightly browned – about 20 minutes.  Enjoy with REAL Butter!

**I know that the tortilla chip thing is not from scratch, but thought I’d share anyway.  Have a great day!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Domestic Diva

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    My mouth is watering! I wish I could pop over and sample your cooking!

  2. I love to see how other people make their granola bars. I’ve never thought of putting baking soda in them. What does it do for the final product?

Leave a Reply

