Embrace Your Imperfections

imagesI have reached that age where I notice my body changing month by month – and not necessarily for the better if you know what I mean.  In a world where looks and youthful appearance is so prized, it is hard to dismiss all of that when we are bombarded with in the media on a daily basis.

I have made a conscious effort as the parent of a daughter to foster an attitude of self acceptance in her.  I have told her how beautiful I think she is often – with and without makeup – zit or no zit.  I never wanted my girl to feel that she had to be “all put together – aka perfect – just to walk out the door.  I know that I feel downright unacceptable without makeup and a hairdo – almost as though people would look at me as they looked at a person with leprosy in Jesus’ times. Luckily, Annie does not feel that way.  She enjoys makeup and experimenting with different hair styles, but I don’t think that she feels incomplete without them.

Anyway, she caught me in the mirror last night scrubbing my enlarging pores and tweezing unwanted hairs.  She said, “Mom, what are you doing?”  I responded, “Examining my many imperfections.”  (Bad answer)  She said, “Mom, you are supposed to embrace your imperfections.”  I felt immediately humbled!  She was right!

All of the affirming comments I make to her mean nothing if I show her that I don’t accept myself at 47, 57 or at any age.   Actions speak louder than words don’t they?  So, do I “Let it go!  Let it go…la, la, la, la, la… Age never bothered me anyway!”  or do I make sure the bathroom door is locked next time I pick myself apart?   The struggles of a woman.  Hmmmm.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Embrace Your Imperfections

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Getting older, and accepting ourselves just as we are, can be a struggle at times. I have a lot of imperfections! And yes, they increase almost daily. I don’t often look in the mirror any more, and when I do, I get a bit of a shock. Do I really look like that woman in the mirror? I agree that we have to show a good example to our daughters, and be more accepting of ourselves. I wouldn’t want to pass on my insecurities to my girls.

    • danardoyle says:

      It is tough, isn’t it? Age isn’t respected anymore. I fear becoming irrelevant and worthless in the eyes of the world. It shows that I need to re focus. I should only care what Our Lord thinks – that heavenly perspective. Each day that we grow older is a step closer to being able to live in the presence of God! Wow!

Leave a Reply

