Shaking the Blues

I don’t know why I am feeling blue today – could be all of the rain.  I am often effected by the absence of sunlight. Today was my last day of school.  I am free for two months, and yet I feel sad inside – instead of gregarious, silent.

I do battle depression – always have – as long as I can remember.  Thankfully, it usually doesn’t last long.  For those of you who may be struggling today, like me, I offer some reassurance from scripture:

Psalms 40:1-3  I waited patiently for the LORD; he inclined to me and heard my cry. He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure. He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the LORD.

Psalms 3:3 But you, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory, and the lifter of my head.

Psalms 42:11 Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise Him, my salvation and my God.

John 16:33 I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world. 

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

 1 Peter 4:12-13 Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice insofar as you share Christ’s sufferings, that you may also rejoice and be glad when His glory is revealed.

If music lifts your spirits, check out this website with some uplifting songs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, scripture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shaking the Blues

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I am sorry to hear you are feeling down. Yes, the blues can descend without warning and any particular reason. I hope they lift soon. Two months break? How wonderful! I bet you have lots of plans for your free days. More writing perhaps? Enjoy!

  2. I said a special prayer for you today

    Continued Blessings,

    working4christtwo
    Patrick

Leave a Reply

