A Mother’s Prayer

Dear Lord, it’s such a hectic day

With little time to stop and pray,

For life’s been anything but calm

Since You called me to be a mom.

Running errands, matching socks,

Building dreams with building blocks,

Cooking, cleaning, and finding shoes

And other stuff children lose –

Fitting lids on bottled bugs,

Wiping tears and giving hugs,

A stack of last week’s mail to read

So where’s the quiet time I need?

Yet when I steal a minute, Lord –

Just at the sink or ironing board –

To ask the blessings of Your grace.

I see then, in my small one’s face

That You have blessed me all the while,

and I stop to kiss that precious smile.

from http://www.CatholicPrayerCards.orgimages

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in parenting, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Mother’s Prayer

  1. chen says:

    Thanks that this prayer is powerful and beautiful.

  2. Raoul says:

    Thank you for the beautiful poem/prayer. Any similar one from an older mother, whose children have started making decisions for her or otherwise unwittingly make her feel dependent? (Such as: “Mom, you should not go to the grocery store alone; do it with your friend across the street or wait for me every second Sunday” ; “Lynn and I have finalized the trip Mother; so prepare for Friday night.”). Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

