Movie News

There are several new Christian movies coming out – two within the next few weeks – “Son of God” and “Noah.”   I am very excited to see Hollywood producing more morally edifying films.  Thank you to Roma Downey!  (You’re an angel! ) If you are interested in these and other Christian films for your family’s entertainment please check out this link to the Christian Film Database. 

With regard to choosing movies for your family, there is an excellent website, “Plugged In,” that gives reviews and ratings.  What I find most useful is how the website’s contributors  list everything morally positive as well as  anything that could possibly be deemed as morally offensive.   Now that G movies are really PG and PG are really PG13…specific information is very helpful in determining what is right for your family to view.

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie News

  1. I realize you aren’t writing a movie blog, but one reflecting your personal experiences. As far as I’m concerned all working moms are heroes. However, as a former Hollywood worker, and believer, I want to offer you a somewhat alternative view of how to choose viewing material.

    If a film isn’t believable, it matters very little what it’s about. Only young kids and the very naive will accept it as meaningful. Most audiences will be bored. So the first aspect to examine is not theme or story but quality. Is it a fully professional production, with authentic performances, a persuasive script and appropriate sets, costumes, music ? Sometimes a cast and filmmakers with a track record can tell you a lot, if no reviews are available. Trailers offer important clues. If they can’t find three excellent minutes to put into a clip show, it’s a guarantee the full film will be much worse.

    The problem I have with “Son of God” is that is isn’t a real movie. It’s a condensed re-edit of Downey and Burnett’s TV miniseries “The Bible”. Why waste money paying for a movie ticket, when you can already get the entire miniseries on DVD? To me, that’s cheating.

    Noah, on the other hand is a real movie, in the tradition of action-adventures based on Bible stories. More like DeMille’s Ten Commandments. Some Christians will quibble about making Noah a nuanced character with flaws, but the account in Genesis is short on detail. I think that’s acceptable poetic license. Ridley Scott’s also making Exodus. That will be a similar adventure, with a big budget and A-list actors.

    I think it’s useful to find the Christian values in movies that aren’t overtly based on the Bible, and that excellent films about things like redemption and forgiveness are just as worthwhile to see. Gravity is a totally life-affirming story. 12 Years a Slave shows the importance of faith during the darkest era of our own history. Dallas Buyers Club was probably the most Christian film I saw last year. In the course of facing a certain death from AIDS, the main character is transformed from the worst kind of selfish, sinful person to being one dedicated to giving all his time, effort and worldly goods to help extend the lives of others who suffer. It’s tremendously moving. For adults of course. (I realize part of your mom job is to act in the capacity of “consumer reports”.)

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you for the professional advice. I hadn’t thought about the films in this way. Thank you too for the info. on Gravity and 12 Years a Slave – good to know!!

Leave a Reply

