For A.B. and All My Friends

An excerpt from a new book I’m working on…

images

Are you tired of chaos in your home?  Are you fretful over your children’s choices, their friendships, their relationships?  Have you lost your motivation?  Do your children treat each other disrespectfully or hurtfully?  Do you wonder how you will pay this month’s bills?  Do you feel angry or agitated toward your spouse?  Do you feel depressed or despairing? 

 

            If you have reached your limit, and you’re thinking to yourself, “That’s it!  I’m done,” I ask you to give the Sacred Heart of Jesus a try.  What do you have to lose?  Your sadness?  Your anger?  Your frustration?   I cannot promise you that making Jesus King of Your Home will take away all of your troubles.  Jesus’ life was marked with trials, struggles and suffering.  When we follow Him, we take up our own personal crosses.  The great news, however, is that you are not alone.  Jesus wants to help you to shoulder your burdens and lighten the load.  He is true to His promise from the gospel of John, ““Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid.”  This peace is life changing, and pervades all aspects of home and family.  He alone can transform your family’s brokenness into wholeness, doubt into faith, anxiety into calm, sadness into joy, suffering into healing – darkness into light.   Sound hopeful? 

 

            In the following chapters, I will specifically tell you how to prepare your family and home to welcome the Sacred Heart.  “Jesus is already welcomed in my home,” you say.  Yes, but this is special.  The enthronement of the Sacred Heart is a way of taking back your household from the strangling hold that our secular society had placed on it.  It is a way to breathe new, refreshing life into the lungs of all who dwell there.  It is a way to shelter your family in the safety of Jesus’ merciful, loving heart.  Can you think of anyplace where you would be more safe?  More loved?

 

Are you reluctant because you think your family members will think that you have finally lost it when you suggest this to them?  I experienced the same lack of enthusiasm when I announced this idea to my loved ones.  Remarkably, the Lord melted their hearts like butter.  By the time that the enthronement ceremony was to take place, all were willingly present and participated (almost) joyfully!  I couldn’t have asked for more.

 

            Not Catholic?  This isn’t a devotion reserved for Catholics, but for all who seek to know, love and serve the Lord more fully, and to experience Christ’s all encompassing peace.  The main thrust of this spiritual practice is in formally making Jesus the King of your household and in daily honoring His beautiful, merciful Sacred Heart.   Traditionally, a picture of Jesus bearing His Sacred Heart is used.  I pray that all who read this will come away from the experience with renewed hope – and a plan to allow God to sanctify his/her family…

Jesus wants to make our families whole again.  He wants to restore us.He has restored my joy following years of depression.  He has helped my husband find work when unemployed.  He has helped my youngest son temper his anger, and become deeply caring and spiritual.  He has given me the strength to teach all day and come home to home-school my middle child. He got me through three pregnancies with preterm labor, and months of bed rest.  He has helped me to forgive those who have hurt me deeply in the past.  He has brought the whole Doyle family closer to Him and to each other.  The list goes on and on. 

 

Jesus truly has our best interests at heart – our ETERNAL interests.  He wants to be involved in every aspect of our lives.  We can trust Him fully, for He is all-good and all Truth.  His Sacred Heart is a refuge and font of grace for families!  Trust in Him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Catholic, faith, Faith & Children, Marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For A.B. and All My Friends

  1. Faithfulmom2 says:

    I am returning to this devotion for myself and kids. It is a beautiful devotion. My Sacred Heart photo has always been in our family room near us for so many years. What an exciting project and I will pray for this endeavor for you. Blessings!

  2. Good and VERY good.

    May the Holy Spirit Bless and guide your effort.

    Your in my daily prayers, Patrick working4christtwo

Leave a Reply

