Our Lady of Lourdes

IMG_3100IMG_3099

IMG_3127 IMG_3125I found an old statue of Our Lady of Lourdes (Mary) in the religion office at school.  She looked rather yellow, faded and was missing her nose.  I took her home, fashioned a nose for her out of spackling putty and repainted her in preparation for her feast day tomorrow, February 11.  I had fun doing it, and hope that Mother Mary is somehow pleased.  I will bring her back to school after I enjoy her at home for one more day!!

Our Lady of Lourdes, pray for us!  St. Bernadette, pray for us!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, Saints and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Lady of Lourdes

  1. Patricia says:

    Dana, what a lovely thing to do. Good for you, knowing how to make a nose! Bet you will receive special blessings from Our Lovely Lady of Lourdes tomorrow. Enjoy her feastday. I’m glad you changed the color of her hiar 🙂

    • danardoyle says:

      Thank you, Patricia. I had a lot of fun doing it. I wasn’t praying the whole time, but still felt a special connection to Mary while working on her image. Coming from the Middle East, I really felt she needed dark hair:)

      • Patricia says:

        Yes! I don’t think Our Blessed Mother was a blonde 🙂
        Hope you had a lovely Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes. I visited there in 1997, and honestly, the grotto area had a truly palpable sense of peace and holiness. I just wanted to stay there forever. Our Lady is so good! Blessings always….

      • danardoyle says:

        You are so blessed to have gotten to visit there. Blessings to you, too!

Leave a Reply

