I Love When Things Like This Happen

UnknownThis morning, I was “done” before I even got to work.  I felt emotional, overwhelmed, and on the brink of crying.  I don’t know why but I felt overcome by fear.  I thought to myself, “What is it that you are so afraid of?”  I wrote the items (about 7-8) in all on a piece of paper.  I knew exactly what I had to do to turn this day around!  I had to go give it all to Jesus!

Before doing anything else, I walked over to the adoration chapel and gently placed my list of fears in the intention basket beneath the Blessed Sacrament.  I then knelt down to pray, asking Jesus to take all of my fears from me – to help me to shoulder my burdens and to restore my sense of peace and trust in Him.  Then I sat down to read from a little book that I had brought with me for inspiration.

Someone had mentioned Mother Angelica to me only days before, and that prompted me to pull one of her books from my library shelf and to finish reading it. I had placed it in my bag to bring to work with me – just in case I got a few minutes.    I like to underline/highlight all of my books, so I could immediately tell where I had left off.

This particular book is not written in paragraph form.  Mother gives advice on a multitude of topics, so it’s organized in little tidbits/quotes. As I began to read, my eyes filled with tears.   Nearly every one of those fears that I had placed in the basket was addressed as I read through a few pages.  God had really heard me, and He really cared.  He was encouraging me through the words in the book.  God is so merciful and so, so good!  I love when things like this happen!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholicism, eucharist, faith, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Love When Things Like This Happen

  1. Raoul says:

    Nice to know you had your encouragement. God loves you, I can see.

  2. Me too!

    Stay close to God and He WILL stay very close to you,

    When I encouner a day like your I like to ask: WHO”S incharge me or God; knowing the responsibility can’t be shared.

    God Bless you Patrick working4christtwo

  3. Felix says:

    All my life I have been battling fear; it is tearing my life apart. I have SA – Social Anxiety, please pray for me. Thank you.

    • danardoyle says:

      You bet that I will! I often think I must not have much faith to be so fearful of so many things. The two seem incompatible, don’t they? But I do have faith! I will pray for you!

Leave a Reply

