It Takes Discipline

UnknownThis new year, I want to try really hard to develop some new good habits.  I did some research on how long it takes to form a new habit, and researchers differ in their findings.  The answers were somewhere between eighteen days/ repetitions to two months and even longer.  Not very encouraging, I must say!  I thought to myself, how will I know when I’ve mastered a new good habit?  One researcher said that you know when you’ve developed a new habit when it feels strange not to do it – whatever “it” may be.

Well, I’ve got a long list of things I’d like to do better in 2014.  Some of the items on my wish list include:

Hanging my clothes up or bringing them to the laundry room right after taking them off instead of dropping them on the closet floor

having a place for everything and everything in its place

cleaning my car regularly

opening my bills & mail right away

exercising regularly

reading the bible, praying the rosary and silent reflection daily

getting up on time and not hitting the snooze multiple times

packing lunches the night before

keeping track of finances more diligently

making my bed every morning so that it looks inviting when I get home

praying as a family daily (more than just grace)

writing posts at least 2-3 times a week

And the list goes on…

I’m telling myself what I tell my students.  It takes discipline to be a good disciple.  I confess that I am a person led much by my heart and by my feelings.  That does not make for a truly good disciple, because if one prays, or acts in kindness, or is a good witness only when he/she feels like it, that could be a problem!  I need to develop more discipline in order to be a better servant.  I know that I would totally sabotage myself if I tried to conquer the entire list at once…So I will prioritize and work on one good habit at a time.  This week, (since I’m headed back to work after a two-week break) I think that I will choose the “Don’t hit the snooze more than once” habit, and see how faithful I can be with that this week.  I’m going to push the envelope just a bit and do the “hang up the clothes thing” this week also.  I will let you know how it goes.

Over the holidays, I cleaned out every drawer and closet in the house.  My hubby and I also tackled the garage on Saturday – and I do mean tackled!  It took 6 hours to organize and dispose of stuff in order to be able to park our car where it was intended.  It feels so good to have purged and simplified!  Now to keep it up in 2014!

What habits are you hoping to master in 2014?

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It Takes Discipline

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    We just tackled our garage, and we still can’t get the car into it. In fact, it has never ever been inside the garage. Perhaps we should rename it ‘the storage room’ or ‘the rubbish room’!

    It’s always good to stop and think about the areas of our lives which need improving. I know I could do better as far as prayer goes. I too am led by my feelings.

    Please do share how you go with the snooze button and clothes!

    God bless.

  2. Awesome!

    as a Life long Catholic [69 and counting: THANK YOU JESUS], I suggest to set your priorities to
    GODLY things first;

    Then the rest tackle WITH God; one at a time.

    Love your BLOG!

    Patrick’
    working4christtwo

Leave a Reply

