Just Thinking Out Loud

The-Thinker-Pondering-QuestionsMany of you probably think that I’ve dropped off of the planet, or ridden off into the sunset or something.  I’ve (unintentionally – or maybe intentionally) taken a break from writing – at least at my “Catholic Working Mom” blog.  I’ve been thinking about whether or not to continue here, or to just let it go.  It was a challenge and so much fun for a while.  I loved reading the comments and answering them, meeting friends around the world – if only online.  It was very fulfilling.

So much has been going on in my life that other priorities have taken center stage.  I don’t feel like I should necessarily share those things, as they involve others – not just myself.

As far as my thoughts on matters of faith and religion, I believe that I have given my opinion on most everything that I have an opinion about – What is there left to say – that anyone would care to read anyhow?

My family members tend to get jealous of my time with the computer anyway.  For instance, right now, a little fellow has crawled up in the bed beside me to see exactly what it is that I am doing.  I’m watching… (John typed that.)

Checking out my dashboard, I see that I have used 99% of my storage space on WordPress.  Apparently, I’ve done a lot of writing and posting of pictures (two of my loves!)  When you’ve reached 100%, do they just shut you down?  Does one start a new blog at that point if he/she wishes to continue posting?

With the pace of my life accelerating even more this school year, I have difficulty squeezing in a smidgen of time to myself each day.  Often, I have to hide in the bathtub! Often, I fall asleep at 8:30 p.m. from exhaustion, only to get up at 5 a.m. and do it all over again!  The only thing keeping me going is the few moments a day that I steal away in the adoration chapel and the fact that I am a good sleeper – two TREMENDOUS blessings!

I do have a wonderful story that I want to share about a miracle that I was blessed to witness.  I will post that tomorrow.

I know this is totally random, but Advent seems to be really speeding by – all those things I wanted and intended to do with the kids to make it extra meaningful – BIG SIGH.  I was actually caught off guard by all of the pink in church this morning – Rose Sunday – Couldn’t be already!!  Does anyone else feel this way?  At the moment, I confess that I am a bit jealous of stay at home moms.  Four and a half more days until a two-week break – really needed:)

Good night all!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just Thinking Out Loud

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I will miss you if you give up blogging. Perhaps you could just post once a month to stay in touch? Perhaps you could go in a new direction with a new blog instead of not writing at all.

    I often feel like the computer is stealing away too much time from my life. I find it hard to keep up with everything that goes hand-in-hand with blogging… the comments and reading other blogs and maintaining online friendships. Good as those are, there is never enough time, and I end up feeling stressed about the whole thing, and I decide never to go near my dashboard (or FB) ever again. Then something happens like an encouraging comment from a friend or I get a ‘wonderful’ idea for a blog post, and I change my mind.

    Maybe I can change your mind. I hope so!

    God bless you!

  2. Raoul says:

    Hi Dana,

    It’s really hard having to write on a regular basis, whether or not you’re paid for it. Many times you grope for insights or something interesting to say. You always feel the need to write well, or people will not give your article more than a passing glance. That can be stressful. This is an argument for writing only when you are inspired. Or only when you need to express something which you feel must be fixed for the moment. Either because it builds upon your other ideas or it embodies the seed of a totally new strain of thought, which you may be able to develop right then and there (leading to a wonderful discovery), or at some future time. Or you may feel what you write may be important for others, because maybe they will find themselves in what you write or what you write about will lead to their own insights and growth.

    Personally I like to fix and organize my thoughts whenever an idea I find exciting or filled with possibilities strikes me. I do this with or without the thought of anybody reading my writing, me being satisfied with writing only for myself (for the moment at least). I do find satisfaction in developing an insight that suddenly pops into my head to see where it leads and whether it jibes with what I already believe, thus helping me integrate all the ideas that are important to me. At a later time, I would go and re-read what I wrote and often I get quite amazed that I had had those thoughts at some time past. Then with a little modification, I get more amazed at how those thoughts seem to be so helpful to some current public discourse, or to some never-ending discussion on life’s variegated issues, and then that is the time I feel the urge about sharing them with others.

    I agree with Sue Elvis that you should not completely stop writing. Instead share with us at least now and then what new thoughts occupy your mind. From our mutual sharing we may find how universal the human condition is and how related we really are to one another, although we may live across seas, time and climes.

    God Bless,
    -Raoul

  3. Gail Hutchings says:

    I will miss reading your wonderful blog, but I certainly understand where you are coming from. I’ve been there over the years. Thank you for all you have written. You have been an inspiration to so many! Yes, I agree that Advent has been slipping by way too quickly this year. Wishing you and your family a Blessed Christmas and a Happy New Year! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

