I’m NOT done.

IMG_2612IMG_2613IMG_2610

 

 

 

 

 

After sitting at the Department of Motor Vehicles with my daughter for three hours this morning for naught, I was fit to be tied!  After waiting for hours to take the written driving test, we still had thirty some-odd people ahead of us!  We hated to leave after so much time invested, but my girl was beginning to feel sick!  When we got home, shamefully, I crawled back under the covers and instead of counting my blessings, I began counting all of the things that I was “done with-”  constant sources of aggravation like rude people and road construction…  After decompressing internally a bit, I felt I needed to beg the Lord’s forgiveness for allowing the world to steal my joy and the devil my thoughts.  After I got up off of the pity pot, the kids helped me turn my stinky attitude around by making a food craft – Nutter Butter Turkeys!  I haven’t made these since my oldest was about 8-9 years old.  He had a little buddy who would come over every Thanksgiving holiday week and ask to make these!  Good memories!

We are now enjoying another yearly tradition – “Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer” – the good old 70’s puppet animation version – never gets old!

Is anyone else upset about stores being open on Thanksgiving this year?  It’s not right.  Greed – Just another way that the devil is trying to separate families and screw up our priorities.  My eldest is working in retail now and won’t be able to be with us for Thanksgiving dinner:(  I’m digging my heels in!  I will not be shopping on Thanksgiving.  As tempting as it has been – what with “Christmas” starting in the stores, on television and on the radio so early this year – I will not put up my tree, and put away the pilgrims until Friday.

Have a Blessed Thanksgiving, my American friends:)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in nutrition/food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

