Squashing the Blahs

Today was a cold, rainy – generally nasty day here in Southeast Louisiana.  Normally, I would have (most likely) gotten a case of the blahs due to the fact that I seem to need a lot of natural light.  Thinking about the poor people in the Midwest ravaged by tornadoes and snow, and the thousands of homeless in the Philippines; however, really gave me a reality check.  I have so much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving – and everyday of the year.

I had a great, fruitful day.  I don’t know why it is, but I only feel good about a given day when I’ve been able to accomplish something(s).  Today was the perfect mix of work and play. I met friends for breakfast and a wreath making “party.”   Here’s my creation:

IMG_2595

 

I painted “Thanksgiving” nails with my daughter.  She found these in an online tutorial – surprisingly fun and easy. In case you can’t tell, there’s a pumpkin, feathered headband, turkey leg, pilgrim hat and ear of corn.

IMG_2594

I cooked a simple but delicious dinner – ham steak, smothered onions and red potatoes and mixed vegetables.  I played Nerf football with my son (inside)!  I also wrapped a few Christmas presents and played bingo with my kids at the kitchen table.  Whew!  What a busy day!

IMG_2605IMG_2607

 

 

 

 

 

“I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart;
I will tell of all thy wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in thee,
I will sing praise to thy name, O Most High.”  Psalm 9: 1-2 

Thank you God for cloudy skies that make me appreciate sunny days.
Thank you for the fleece that keeps my body warm.

Thank you for good friends and good food.

Thank you for the gift of life – my three precious children, my husband & my life too!

Thank you for time to relax, to create, to play… to be “just a mommy” today and not a working mommy…

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, miscellaneous, Prayer, scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Squashing the Blahs

  1. rosalyn2012 says:

    Please encourage Annie to keep those nails on till our Saturday dinner! I’d love to see those.

Leave a Reply

