An Exercise in Humility

UnknownI knew that I was due to go to the eye doctor in October.  I was actually excited about going, because my eyesight has changed substantially in the last year, and I was looking so forward to seeing clearly again.  I’ve been wearing progressive glasses and “bifocal” contacts for a year or two now.  Anyhow, I really enjoy the outdoors.  I love taking a walk or bike ride and admiring the beauty of God’s creations – the turning leaves, the fall flowers, the clouds, the stars on a clear night.  I wanted my distance vision back at all cost, so that I could really appreciate nature again.

When I went to the eye doctor, I told him that I wanted my distance vision back, even if it meant that I had to wear readers.  He talked me into trying one distance contact and one contact for reading.  I tried two different sets, but just could not adjust to it.  Maybe it’s my stubbornness!   I finally settled on two contacts for distance vision only – just like when I was a teenager – only I’m not a teenager.

Well, I now have readers strategically placed all over the place.  I cannot see to text, or read my phone.  I surely can’t read a book or use the computer without my “grannie glasses.”  I can’t focus on the food on my plate. I grocery shop with a pair on my head, so that I can pull them down when I need to read a label.

The first day that I had to use them in front of my teenage students, it was like eating a giant slice of humble pie!  Not planning ahead, I actually wound up with my hair tied back that day.  With the readers and my hair in a knot, I thought, “Now I really look like an old school marm.”   I am no longer young – no longer cool.

Oh well. It’s not the end of the world, right?!  So, I’ve moved into the next phase of life – a natural process – aging.  Yipee!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

