Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, October 26, 2013

Readings for Sunday, October 26, 2013

Sunday’s readings are so incredibly reassuring.  Couldn’t we all use some of that in the unjust world we live in today?  In the first reading, I love the imagery of the prayer of the poor one PIERCING the clouds.  It reminds me of lighting a candle at church – how the heat rises up above the flame toward heaven.  For me those stinking electric flameless candles in some churches just don’t satisfy – you know?

Anyway,  we are assured that for those who serve God, our prayers are always heard, and that “God does not delay.”  You might be thinking, what’s up with that?  I ask God for things all of the time, and He surely seems to take His time in answering.   We must remember that God can see all – past, present and future.  He knows what is best for our eternal life – when to give, when to withhold and when to say, “Wait awhile.”  Do we really trust that the One who made us tends to our deepest needs?

I love Paul’s proclamation in the second reading –


I have competed well; I have finished the race;
I have kept the faith.
From now on the crown of righteousness awaits me...

Won't that be great when we can all say that one day? What do we have 
to do in order to be able to proclaim that at the end of our lives?  
Since we truly do not know if we will even be here tomorrow, we should
get started right away!

(I can't figure out why my font has changed, so I'm just going to
go with it.)  When I first read the gospel with my students on 
Friday, we all chuckled at the first man praying to God, chock
full of pride.  We couldn't imagine anyone speaking to God in 
that way. It seemed ludicrous, however, upon further examination, 
we could all admit that we've been a bit prideful in one way or 
another.  Instead of looking down at others who may not be as far 
along on their own personal spiritual paths, why not show them love 
and pray for them? Offer little sacrifices and pray for conversion of 
souls - including our own!  

Humility is what the second man in the gospel parable teaches.  
Humility is the key to holiness and the key to God's heart. We  
have only to look at the life and ministry of Jesus to see how to 
live humbly, serving Our God and others.  May God grant us all
the grace to grow in this essential virtue!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

