Review of “Hope for Healing…”

51J9kSkUx0L._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_Hope for Healing from the Effects of Childhood Sexual Abuse” talks about support, therapy, the question of medication and most importantly, faith. It is written from a Christian perspective. Victims of childhood sexual abuse do not need to live in fear and depression. There is incredible hope for healing!”

Sexual abuse is one of our world’s greatest tragedies and sins. The loss of innocence and trust, not to mention emotional and physical pain, often take a lifetime of healing.

Although the author recounts her own story of abuse, she does not focus on the negative and instead focuses on the “hope for healing” of abuse victims.  This book offers practical ways to help the abuse survivor heal.   Faith plays an integral part of that journey. The author says, “I made great strides through therapy, but it wasn’t until I let God be in charge of my healing and asked for the grace of forgiveness that I really recovered my sense of joy.”

Doyle also tells the reader what to look for in a child so “that they may be protected and an intervention applied early when a case of incest is suspected.”

Most chapters begin with a relevant Scripture passage. Some of the more compelling chapters include:   “My Own Story,” “Grooming,” “Recognizing the Signs,” “Don’t Be Afraid to Call for BackUp,” “Comfort and Purging,” and “Forgiveness.”

Abuse survivors need to know that they are not alone in their struggles.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who has experienced sexual abuse or who knows an abuse survivor.

Copyright 2012 Ellen Gable Hrkach

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

