My Thoughts on the Readings for Sunday, August 11, 2013

Readings for Sunday, August 11, 2013

I don’t know why, but when I read this beautiful quote from scripture, I think of the beauty of the moment of the Visitation when John leapt in the womb of Elizabeth, who was advanced in age.  Those first kicks that any mother feels – a fluttering – is the first concrete knowing that a real baby is growing inside.  He/she becomes real to the mother when she can feel him/her rolling about inside – a realization of something hoped for yet unseen.

I also think of the Eucharist, and how it looks like bread, but how I know with all my heart that it is truly Jesus.  I know it, because my life has been transformed by receiving Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament, and in adoring Him in the chapel.  My wish is that everyone who receives Jesus at mass would feel overwhelmingly the love of Christ within them.  Sadly, I know that many Catholics today don’t believe in the Real Presence of Jesus in the Eucharist.

“Faith is the realization of what is hoped for
and evidence of things not seen.”

the-nativity-story-03-1024x662The second reading reminded me of a conversation I had the other day with my oldest son who just graduated from college and is getting to experience the working world for the first time.  Frustration abounds.  I told him that we cannot get wrapped up in what the world values and what society says is respectable and important.   We must keep our eyes on Jesus.  We must focus on the things of heaven.  People will disappoint us.  Our jobs will be difficult.  If we keep chasing the earthly prize – money, power, prestige, promotions – we will be miserable – never enough. Even worse, we will be too distracted to know, love and serve the Lord – the reason each of us is here on earth.

“Provide money bags for yourselves that do not wear out,
an inexhaustible treasure in heaven
that no thief can reach nor moth destroy.
For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be.”

imagesIn the gospel, when I read the line below, at first, I think of money and “stuff.”  However, on second thought, I also think that Jesus could be speaking of Truth.  To those who have been blessed to have been taught the fullness of Truth, much ( in terms of faith, love and action) will be expected.  For those who were born/raised in families with partial truth or even no truth at all, less will be expected.  If we have been privileged to know Jesus in this life, we must return His great love for us, and love others out of love for Him.  We must try to live humbly and simply, so as not to let anything come between ourselves and the Great God who created us.

Much will be required of the person entrusted with much,
and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more.”

images-1

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

