Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, July 28, 2013

Readings for Sunday, July 28, 2013

In today’s readings, we learn of God’s great mercy and goodness to those who love Him.  In the first reading, God shows incredible patience and mercy in the dialog with Abraham. If only there were ten good people could be found in the city of Sodom, God would spare it for the sake of those ten.  (It also tells about the true state of the hearts of the people in that city, as God did wind up destroying it.)  I wonder how far our world is from the likes of Sodom today?  Unknown-2

In the second reading, we hear about Christ “obliterating” the bonds of sin by “nailing them to the cross.”  That is such powerful imagery.  He gave everything to save us – everything!  images

In the gospel, Jesus teaches us how to pray.  Then He takes it further, recommending that we be persistent in our prayer, as God honors perseverance.  (Just the word “perseverance” makes me tired.  That’s something I know I need to work on.)  He tells us what a wonderful, loving Father God is in wanting to give us what is good  – His generosity cannot be outdone.  Unknown-1

All wonderful news for us today!  Let’s don’t be shy about sharing that great news with others, so that they can know the joy of the Lord, too!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

