The Practice of the Presence of God

an excerpt from my reading this morning – Good stuff!

From one of Brother Lawrence’s letters :We have an infinitely good God who knows what we need.  I have always believed that He would allow you to be reduced to extremities.  He will come when He feels that it is right, and at a time you least expect.  Hope in Him more than ever; join me in thanking Him for the grace He is giving you, particularly for the strength and the patience He is giving you in your afflictions.  This is an obvious sign of the care He has for you, so take Him as your consolation and thank Him for everything.

From a B.L. letter to Madame N. –

I feel very sorry for you; if you can leave the care of your affairs…and busy yourself only with praying to God, you will overthrow the power that presently governs your life and replace it with a better Power.  He does not require a great deal of us; all He asks is a little remembrance of Him from time to time, a little worship.  Sometimes, we should ask for His grace, and sometimes we should offer Him our sufferings.  At other times we ought to thank Him for the grace He has given us and that He is working in us.

In the midst of your work, console yourself with Him as often as you can.  During your meals and your conversations, lift your heart toward Him from time to time; the slightest little remembrance will always be very pleasant to Him.  To do this you do not need to shout out loud.  His is closer to us than we think.

We do not have to be constantly in church to be with God.  We can make our heart a prayer room into which we can retire from time to time to converse with Him gently, humbly and lovingly.  Everyone is capable of these familiar conversations with God – some more, some less.  He knows what our capabilities are.  Let us begin, for perhaps His is only awaiting a generous resolve on our part.

I hope that these words will be as uplifting for you, as they were for me, as I begin this Wednesday.  My nerves are revving- preparing (or over preparing) for the start of a new school year.  I am also taking the kids on a “one last summer adventure” trip today – the kind that I don’t normally try to do without my husband.  That has me a bit nervous as well!  I’ve taken a Zantac, and am trying to get in touch with that inner peace that only the Lord can give!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Practice of the Presence of God

  1. This has truly been an uplifting post for me. Lots of consolation and reassurance.

Leave a Reply

