Turtle Crossing

thThis morning, on our way out of the subdivision, I noticed a large, red ear slider turtle right in the middle of the lane of traffic.  I swerved to miss it, and then looked in my rear view mirror.  To my dismay, he didn’t seem to be going anywhere fast.  In fact, he wasn’t going anywhere period.  I had to stop and turn the car around, all the while praying no one would flatten him like a pancake in the meantime.  I put the car in park, ran over, lifted him by the shell and walked about 20 feet to lower him into the nearby pond.  When I lifted him, he hissed at me, then retreated safely into his attached armor.  Whew!  He made it to safety – at least this time!

I got to thinking, what made the turtle leave one retention pond to try to seek out another?  Did he think that the “water was greener/cleaner” on the other side?  Did he know the danger that he was getting into trying to satisfy his dream or curiosity?  Why was he just sitting in the middle of the street as cars swerved around him?  Was he paralyzed by fear or just too dumb to know any better?

How many times do we believe the grass is greener somewhere else?  Do we become so overcome with envy or the dream that we “walk out into traffic?”  Do we ever act without discernment?  Do we rush into something that looks good/promises to be better only to find ourselves in the middle of a busy street, helplessly stranded and thinking to ourselves, “Oh CR**!”

The Lord wants not just to be a guest in our hearts on Sunday.  He wants to be weaved in and out of all of the activities of our lives.  He wants to be consulted in the big dreams, as well as the big problems.  He wants us to ask about His Will for us in the little details of our busy lives too – that way we never have to be out in the middle of the highway dodging cars and eighteen wheelers!  He wants us to be persevering, prayerful, patient… and poised.  When we wait upon the Lord, we will always arrive right on time – safely!

“But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”  Isaiah 40:31

th-1

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, scripture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turtle Crossing

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I like your reflection on the turtle! We had a near encounter with a bird on the road this morning, but unfortunately my reflection wasn’t as deep as yours. The bird waited until our van was close to it, before flying low and straight across the road, right in front of us. It only just made it to safety. Imogen observed birds have a habit of doing this, but why? Maybe they like dangerous sports? something to liven up their day? extreme sports for birds? We moved onto why people like to participate in such things as skydiving and other daring activities. We might have ended up at God, if we’d continued the conversation!

Leave a Reply

