NW? Really?

This is a preview of my July post for NOLA CATHOLIC EXPERIENCE:

babynamesins_2I’m not really into keeping up with Hollywood, though I do have two kids – a teen and a “twenty-something” to keep me informed of interesting developments in the entertainment world.  Take, for instance, the birth of Kim Kardashian and Kanye West’s baby girl in mid June.  Though, I should not have been surprised, I confess that I really didn’t see it coming – “North West” – the name given the precious little girl.  Well, I guess it is novel – unique to say the least!   Maybe it’s cool in Hollywood to have very unusual names.  I’m thinking… Apple, Olive and Blanket… all children of noted celebrities.  Hmmm.

Naming a child – one of the greatest gifts that God can bestow upon a married couple – is not a task to be taken lightly.  Rather, in my opinion, it is something to be committed to frequent prayer.  I often wonder how many couples ask God what He would like His child to be named.  I admit that my husband and I did not pray about naming our first child at all.  We were young and somewhat self-centered about the whole thing.  We wanted a baby, and conceived that first time quite easily.  In that respect, I suppose, we took our fertility and the gift of life for granted.  We decided that the child would be a “junior” if a boy, or Erin (the name of one of my students who was smart, beautiful and sweet) if a girl.  We didn’t consult God on the matter at all.

Over the years, our spirituality grew, as our parenting experience grew.  When, after great difficulty, we became pregnant for our second child (seven years later after much prayer and pleading), I began to pray about a name for this miracle growing inside of me.  Unbelievably, I had a dream…

For the rest of the story, read my July post for the Archdiocese of New Orleans.  (I will let you know when the article is posted:)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NW? Really?

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I will watch out for the rest of the story!

    Names are so very important. I can remember having so much trouble deciding upon a name for several of our children. Before Callum was born, I did pray. I said, “God you know what this baby’s name is. Please tell us!” Callum is a derivative of Columba, so is a modern saint’s name, and it seems to suit him very well!

    I always loved the name Imogen and didn’t really consider if it was a saint’s name or not when we chose it for our second daughter. Later I discovered that, though Imogen is an Irish name and a Shakesperean name, it also can be considered a Mary name. One of Mary’s titles is Our Lady of Limoge. (I found the connection in a Catholic name book.) I was so pleased to find this out.

    Blanket… hmmm That word doesn’t even sound special!

    God bless!

    • danardoyle says:

      Those are interesting stories about your children’s names – cool information you found out about them!! I just posted a link to the end of the article.

Leave a Reply

