Efficacious Novena to the Sacred Heart

101_3768 IMG_0638This past Friday was the feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.  My family and I were out of town, and were headed home that day, so we went to masstimes.org to find the nearest Catholic Church.  Our intention was to stop in, light a candle, thank God for the respite, and pray for a safe journey home.  If you are not familiar with masstimes.org, it is an essential tool for any traveling Catholic.  You simply put in your city or zip code, and it will list all of the Catholic churches in the area – the closest listed first, the farthest last.  It provides mass times and directions anywhere in the world!  We popped in to this modern (though still beautiful) church.  We quietly searched the entire building for a candle room, but couldn’t find one, so we knelt as a family and prayed.  Mass had ended about thirty minutes prior, so the church was nearly empty.  The silence was heavenly.

On our way out, I asked a parishioner who was also leaving if the church had a candle room.  She explained that the church was “pretty modern,” and did not have candles to light – either conventional or electric.  The woman suggested that we might like to pray in the Blessed Sacrament chapel.  I peaked my head in, but could not find Jesus – only a few chairs and kneelers with a large, artsy looking rectangle in the center.  I came back out and asked, “Where is Jesus?”  “Oh, He’s in the box,” she said.  Yikes.  Really?  It was a bit of a let down.

Anyway, my family is starting this efficacious novena (said daily by Padre Pio) to the Sacred Heart tonight.  I read about a woman (an acquaintance of mine & fellow catechist) who has been healed of fibromyalgia as a result of her faith in Jesus and in praying this novena.  I believe that one is supposed to pray the prayers in the nine days preceding the feast, but I hope that it’s better late than never.  Won’t you join us?

Efficacious Novena To The Sacred Heart Of Jesus

(This novena prayer was recited every day by Padre Pio for all those who asked his prayers)

I. O my Jesus, You have said, ‘Truly I say to you, ask and it will
be given you, seek and you will find, knock and it will be
opened to you.’ Behold, I knock, I seek and ask for the grace of…

Our Father… Hail Mary… Glory be to the Father…
Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in you.

II. O my Jesus, You have said, ‘Truly I say to you, if you ask
anything of the Father in my name, He will give it to you.’
Behold, in Your name, I ask the Father for the grace of…

Our Father… Hail Mary… Glory be to the Father…
Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in you.

III. O my Jesus, You have said, ‘Truly I say to you, heaven and
earth will pass away but my words will not pass away.’
Encouraged by Your infallible words, I now ask for the grace of…

Our Father… Hail Mary… Glory be to the Father…
Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in you.

O Sacred Heart of Jesus, for whom it is impossible not to have
compassion on the afflicted, have pity on us poor sinners
and grant us the grace which we ask of You, through the Sorrowful and Immaculate heart of Mary, Your tender mother and ours.

Hail, Holy Queen… St. Joseph, foster father of Jesus, pray for us.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, Blessed Sacrament, eucharist, faith, Prayer, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

