Lessons from Today

imagesToday did not go at all like I planned, but it was good, nonetheless.  I learned a few things.  #1 Take time to build a tent with all of the blankets in your house and all of the chairs available.  It might be a pain in the butt to pick up, but the smiles it creates are well worth it.  Watching old Popeye episodes with an eight year old in a tent is also fun – it will bring you back a few decades!

#2 Decoupaging tiny pictures of One Direction members on a teen daughter’s nails is a creative project that brings out the giggles in the painter and the paintee.  The nails surprisingly came out pretty cute.    #3 My daughter also showed me how to make a swim suit cover-up out of an extra-large man’s T-shirt.  A few snips, ties and some fabric paint – Whalla!Unknownimages-1

#4 When you have writer’s block (my post for NOLA Catholic Experience is due June 1st!), just ask the Holy Spirit for help.  I went from nothing to an article in 30 minutes – ONLY after prayer.  My daughter thought that the topic I chose to write about was stupid –  translation – adults will probably like it:)

#5 The readings from scripture reinforced for me the need to tithe – to give to God (time, talent, treasure) by giving to others, including the Church cheerfully – in gratitude for all He provides for my family daily.images-2

#6 I also learned that green coffee bean extract is not the miracle-working weight loss supplement that I hoped it would be.  I lost 3 pounds in 2 days, then have been at an impasse for the past 4  – no change!  I’m not throwing in the towel yet!  It took years to create my “muffin top” (I hate that analogy!), and I expect to get rid of it in a few days.  REALLY?  More sit ups for me!!  Anything worth having (like a firmer stomach) is worth working for.

#7  I learned that low fat, certain brand, smoked sausage makes red beans a bit sweet instead of spicy.  My children don’t like sweetish beans.  Next time, I will buy the more expensive sausage so that they’ll actually eat the dinner that I took time to prepare.  Unknown-1

I wonder what lessons are in store for tomorrow.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in education/teaching, Faith & Children, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

