Food Update

IMG_0016I am lasting much longer than I thought I could with regard to cleaning up our family’s eating.  We’ve been at it for about a month and a half now (I think), and it’s actually becoming a habit.  It has taken a great deal of effort.  We now go to three different stores to purchase food.  We cannot get everything we need at the best price at one place.  My husband has backed me 100%, and my youngest has also done quite well, understanding why we’ve made the move away from genetically modified foods.  My teenager has not taken it so well, and uses every opportunity to score “junk” food.   I understand.  We are so accustomed to the pre-packaged, high fructose corn syrup sweetened stuff, that our taste buds have to be retrained to appreciate the healthier choices.  It’s not easy.

I cheat occasionally – with a piece of chocolate in the teacher’s lounge, or a piece of cake at a party, however, I’m eating well about 94% of the time – that’s a major improvement.  It might be my imagination, but I think that I feel better in general.  I certainly feel better about putting cleaner “fuel in my tank.”  I feel better about providing more nourishing, less harmful foods for my family.  We don’t keep the junk in the house anymore, so it really limits the times that we are exposed to it.

Some of the favorite things that we have discovered are:

“Fresh Market” brand milk – almost as inexpensive as a “regular” gallon of milk, but from cows that are not given hormones

“Breyers” all natural vanilla and chocolate ice creams

“Immaculate” brand canned crescent rolls and cinnamon rolls

“Kerry Gold” butter

“Skinny” bagged popcorn

“Annie’s” products (I buy these when they are on sale.images)

“Garden of Eatin” taco shells

“Frontera” meat marinades

“Clif Kid Z bars” (Brownie bar and Iced Oatmeal are especially good!)

locally grown honey

Diana’s Bananas (Dark Chocolate Dipped & Frozen)

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in nutrition/food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

