Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, May 5, 2013

Readings for Sunday, May 5, 2013

Can you guess my favorite verse this week?  “Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid.”  In the gospel, Jesus eludes to His impending Ascension.  Often, when I contemplate the Ascension, I envision myself standing there with the disciples watching Jesus float up into the sky.  In my heart, I want to pull on His tunic, or hold onto His foot and not let Him go.  I suppose that is not the proper response.  I should be happy for Jesus that He got to return to the Father.  After all, isn’t that where we all hope to eventually wind up?

It’s the same when we lose someone we love.  We have the real hope that he/she is going to a better place, but we still want to hold on, because it hurts too much to be without that person.  Jesus has not left us alone.  He sent us the Holy Spirit to fill us, to guide us, to advocate for us.  Sometimes, I think that we don’t recognize and rely upon the Holy Spirit enough.  In the Holy Spirit, we have grace for the asking.  Do we remember to ask?

I have experienced this wonderful, deep peace that Christ promised to give, from time to time.  Inevitably, I let the worries and struggles of living in this world steal it from me.  Thankfully, I have only to visit Jesus in the adoration chapel, or receive Him in the Blessed Sacrament and some of that peace is restored.  It’s also cumulative – the more one visits, the more peace one receives.  If you are looking for peace in this mixed-up, stress filled imagesworld we are living in, the Holy Spirit and the peace of Christ is your answer –  the only answer.

 

Come Holy Spirit!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, May 5, 2013

  1. Beth T. says:

    Dana,
    I am left with chills from head to toe!
    God IS everywhere. Lucky for us.
    Beth

Leave a Reply

