My Personal Thoughts on Today’s Readings

Today’s Readings

From the first reading:

“Thus they even carried the sick out into the streets
and laid them on cots and mats
so that when Peter came by,
at least his shadow might fall on one or another of them.”

This made me think of relics and of the gift of healing.  No thing or person has the power in and of itself to heal, but God can use any one or anything He pleases to bring healing.  These people were hoping just to be for a moment covered by Peter’s shadow.  Faith and hope in God are key to healing.

“On the evening of that first day of the week,
when the doors were locked, where the disciples were,
for fear of the Jews,
Jesus came and stood in their midst
and said to them, “Peace be with you.”

Hasn’t sin and hurt caused many of us to lock the doors to our hearts?  We have locks, padlocks, deadbolts and more keeping others from coming close to us – where we risk being hurt again.  Jesus has the power to walk through locked doors – to enter into our hurts and hearts effortlessly.  Will we let him in?  He can be trusted.

“Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here and see my hands,
and bring your hand and put it into my side,
and do not be unbelieving, but believe.”
Thomas answered and said to him, “My Lord and my God!”
Jesus said to him, “Have you come to believe because you have seen me?
Blessed are those who have not seen and have believed.”

At first, upon reading this, I thought, “Yipee!”  I have not seen and have believed.  I am blessed, right?  I read another translation of this passage and it said, “Blessed are those who have not seen and whose faith has been constant.”  Hmmm.   Is my faith constant?  What about my moments of doubt and fear?  Still got some work to do…

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

