Shopping Fun?

My fourteen year old daughter has been saving her cash to do some spring shopping.  Yesterday, excitedly, she asked me to take her to the mall.  “Sure,”  I said with a smile that hid my clenched teeth.  I knew this was not going to be a fun, mother daughter bonding experience.  My daughter loves fashion.  It should be a creative, harmless way of making a self statement, Right? Hmmm.

Our mission yesterday was to find some shorts and a bathing suit.  Yikes!  About two hours into our search, there were tears and frustration.  After three hours, we bought mocha frappuccinos in attempt to cheer ourselves.  (That did help some.) Then, exhausted from the hunt, we went home.

We brainstormed – what could we do?  I suggested that perhaps she could buy some long pants that fit nicely, and then we could cut them off and hem them to just the right length.  My daughter wasn’t so sure of my sewing prowess, so she didn’t go for it.  I offered to take them to a professional tailor so that no one would ever know.  Who knows, it may still come to that.   How I wish that someone would open a boutique in our area with fun, funky, modest clothing for teens.  It is much, much-needed!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shopping Fun?

  1. madaughter says:

    Are cut-off jeans still trendy? Those were always my favourite. Shopping for bathing suits will try the patience of even the strongest character. I hear the one-piece is really on-trend this year.
    Do you have any good thrift stores nearby? Sometimes you can find really great items in them. I swear by them!

    Kat

    You’ll link to my Caregiver blog through this username, but I also have a Catholic Blog here: faithfoodflowers.wordpress.com

  2. Barbara says:

    You need to give up and pick your battles, if the only thing you have to worry about is your daughter wanting to wear short shirts like every other 14 year old American girl consider yourself lucky. Get a grip there are far more important things you could have to worry about considering what some 14 year old girls are doing today.

    • danardoyle says:

      Barbara, I teach teenagers for a living, so I am not out of touch with what they do. I discovered when you commented on my “Hobby Lobby” post that you were not the Barbara M. that I knew, but that’s o.k. You are still reading my posts, even though (I’m sure) we disagree on a number of things. Thanks for reading and for commenting!

  3. Barbara says:

    I am sure we do disagree on a number of things but that is our right as Americans to freely disagree. I know you work with kids my child is a student at OLL. However, I am not sure how you ended up on my friend list on Facebook. Where did you go to high school I went to Mt. Carmel and graduated from Tulane. Is that where we could have possibly crossed paths? However, I am sure that we disagree on a number of issuesl. Although, I do admire you for having the courage to post a blog for the things you believe in and are passionate about.
    Also, I never said you were out of touch with what kids do I said you should consider yourself lucky if the only thing you have to worry about is your 14 year old wanting to wear short shorts like every other 14 year old American girl.

Leave a Reply

