I’ve Gone off the Deep End!

I haven’t written in awhile, because I really haven’t felt like I’ve had anything inspiring to say.  I like to keep things very positive and upbeat – to be a blessing (hopefully) and not a black cloud.  The truth is that I have been battling depression.  It’s nothing new – really a lifelong struggle – I’ve just been in a funk for weeks now.  Seems illogical – as everything in the environment around me is springing to life.  I’ve been feeling overwhelmed – my body and brain’s reaction is to go into shut down mode.  I am offering it up and offering it to Jesus – working on it.

Now – the real reason for the title of today’s post – About 2 weeks ago, I came across an article and a pdf on Genetically Modified Foods and their risks to our health.  Some say it’s all worry for nothing.  Some say these foods are downright dangerous.  I decided to conduct an experiment at my house.  Luckily, after reading the article, my husband was on board, too.  I got up one Saturday morning and began to read labels in our pantry and refrigerator.  I threw out/boxed up anything with the offending ingredients.  I was trying to do so stealthily, but my kids happened upon my clean up!  You would have thought we were at a funeral!  There was wailing and gnashing of teeth!  My kids told me that they were sure I had finally lost it!

Anyway, up until the Easter Bunny’s visit yesterday, we were 2 weeks preservative, and GMO free.  I am really hoping this change in diet will accomplish a few things:  #1  I’m hoping that it helps my daughter’s chronic migraines.  #2  I’m hoping that only having healthy foods in the house will help my eight year old to learn to eat healthier – and like it!  (He is a junk food junkie!)  #3   I’m hoping that eating organic will help my husband and I to stay fit longer and keep our weight in normal range without “dieting.”  Like I said, the Easter Bunny brought lots of chocolate and marshmallow confections.  I will allow it to stay around the house for about a week for the kids to enjoy (in addition to our new healthy foods,) before the candy starts to “disappear.”

The only drawbacks have been increased mealtime preparation and cost.  The healthier/purer foods are substantially more expensive, BUT so are increased medications and doctor visits.  I’ll let you know how my “experiment” goes once we have a couple of months under our belts.  (This article was helpful in showing me which foods to select.)  Do any of you have experience with doing a food overhaul at your house?  organic

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, Informational, nutrition/food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’ve Gone off the Deep End!

  1. gail says:

    Dana,

    I have recently “Gone off the Deep End” just like you. Three months ago I changed my diet to more organic natural foods, less sugar, and less artificial preservatives and sweeteners. I was having trouble with skin infections and wanted to boost my immune system. The diet has really helped, even though it does take more work and is more expensive. Something else I discovered was that many cleaning products and disinfectants we use are harmful to our immune systems. I am now using more natural cleaning products. My favorite soap in called “Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castile Soap.” You can use it in many ways. It is made with natural organic oils and there are several varieties enhanced with essential oils. My all-time favorite is the Tea Tree variety (which has really helped my skin), but there are many good choices, including the “Baby” variety, which is unscented. I buy them in liquid form and you can find them at Whole Foods Market or GNC. I also noticed that the large Rouses on 190 towards old Covington carries the bar soap varieties.

    Also, regarding your daughter’s migraine headaches: I suffered with migraines all of my life, starting as a teenager. When I first experienced a migraine warning signal, I thought I was going blind. Throughout life, I have discovered many triggers for my headaches. Monthly hormonal changes had something to do with mine, but I also discovered early on that I needed to stay away from MSG, caffeine, dark chocolate, and nitrates, which are found in a lot of processed foods; so the overhaul at your house should be helpful for your daughter. Recently, when I started drinking regular iced tea, my migraines were returning frequently, so I had to go back to just drinking water with fresh lime. Homemade ginger root tea is a pretty good substitute for hot tea, and it’s good for the immune system, too.

    I hope this little information will be helpful to you. I really enjoy reading your posts. You are a good steward of the many gifts that God has given you. I will keep you in my prayers.

    Gail Hutchings

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Hi Dana,

    I’m so sorry you’re not feeling too good. My eldest daughter battles depression so I know it is hard to live with. I am praying for you. May you feel the joy of the Easter season.

    God bless you!

  3. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I meant to have said that it is good to share our bad times, as well as our good ones. We are friends and I care about you and want to know how you’re doing. God bless!

Leave a Reply

