Walking with Sadie

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of the things I’m enjoying about our new dog is the fact that she loves to go for walks – so much so that she will sometimes bring me the leash!  She has an insatiable desire to go exploring.  When I hook her to the lead and we hit that patio door, she is full of energy – all senses heightened – on alert.  Each time we go for a walk – no matter how many times we’ve taken a certain path, it’s like the first time for Sadie.  It never seems to get old or familiar.

Walking with Sadie has reminded me to have that same awe and wonder about God the Creator.  One of my children recently asked me how it was that some people do not believe in God.  I said, ” I do not understand it myself.  All one has to do is look around.  His existence is evidenced in the beauty and intricacy of His creation.”

I never want to lose that awe – that first time feeling – that enthusiasm for my walk with the Lord.  When I sometimes get bogged down with worldly junk, I take refuge in the love of His Sacred Heart.  There in the silence, He restores that sense of smallness – that reverence – that awe.

Next time you take a walk – whether it be alone, with a dog, or with a loved one, look for the evidence of God.  Ask Him to help you recapture that “first time feeling” on your journey with Him.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, I Saw God Today, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

