A Song in My Heart

I was given a most wonderful blessing today – that of a song in my heart.  I literally could not keep from singing – when I wasn’t singing, I felt compelled to hum.  I apologize if I inadvertently irritated anyone!   I am ever aware that the “world is going to hell in a hand basket” as some may say, but all I could see and feel was the beauty of people and things this Monday, March 11 – even though the day began with dreary rain.   That, my friends, is the kind of joy that only God can give.  Surely, I am no “Sister Mary Sunshine” (no disrespect intended), but today the joy was palpable and long-lasting – a gift!

This experience reminded me of the lyrics to one of my favorite hymns, “How Can I Keep From Singing?”

My life goes on in endless song
Above earth’s lamentations,
I hear the real, though far-off hymn
That hails a new creation.

Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear it’s music ringing,
It sounds an echo in my soul.
How can I keep from singing?…

I also thought of Maya Angelou’s “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.”

...But a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams
his shadow shouts on a nightmare scream
his wings are clipped and his feet are tied so he opens his throat to sing.

The caged bird sings with a fearful trill
of things unknown but longed for still
and his tune is heard on the distant hill
for the caged bird sings of freedom.”

This is what is ours if we give ourselves completely to Jesus.  TRUE FREEDOM.  Some say that they feel imprisoned by all of the “rules” of the Church.  It’s not like that at all!  When we follow God’s way, we are truly happy.  When we go our own way, we ALWAYS come up short. Only He can satisfy our hearts desires.  Only He!

I have struggled with depression for over thirty years.  I know what deep sadness and hopelessness feels like.  I do not “walk on sunshine” every day, trust me.  But every now and then (and lately more often), God blesses me with a little glimmer of heaven – that “peace on earth” we sing about at Christmas time.

Just in case you wondered – here’s a list of my absolute favorite songs to sing along to when I feel filled with heaven’s joy:

For Love of You,  Audrey Assad  (click to hear)

Come to Jesus, Chris Rice

Good to Be Alive, Jason Gray

Hungry, Joy Williams

Place in this World, Michael W. Smith

Your Hands, JJ Heller

We Are, Kari Jobe

(Secularly – anything Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” or Evanescence, “Bring Me to Life.”)

What are your favorite “feel good” praise & worship songs?

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Christian Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Song in My Heart

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Thank you for sharing your joy. You brought a smile to my face. Joy is contagious! Blessed days like yours help us face the more difficult times.

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

