The Prodigal Son

Reflection on today’s gospel, Sunday, March 10, 2013

Today’s gospel story is so beautiful and tells of God’s great mercy.  I would like to address the feelings of the “good son.”  Many people read this gospel story and immediately empathize with the son who remained faithful all along, and was outraged that the dad threw a party and rolled out the red carpet for the one who has long been unfaithful – and just plain rotten.  Oh, how human we are!

This makes me think of a video I saw years ago, and that I’ve even posted segments of in the past.  Sondra Abrahams is a woman who died on the table in a hospital in the 1970’s.  She claims to have had a vision of hell, (heaven and purgatory) before the doctors shocked he back to life.  She said that hell is so bad that words cannot describe it accurately.  Sondra said that even if her child were murdered, she would not want the murderer to go to hell.  Here’s a portion of Sondra’s testimony is you want to see it.

Whether we want to  believe it or not, all human beings, by nature of them being created by God, are our brothers and sisters.  We should want all should to be saved.  This is why the Church doesn’t believe in the death penalty – for as long as a sinner is alive, there is a chance of conversion – of repentance.  Punishment on this earth may be long and even grueling, but hell is eternal – FOREVER!  We can’t even wrap our minds around that.

Let us make it our mission to pray and to work LS00033lgfor the conversion of souls everywhere – especially the most hardened.  Let us not be jealous of those who come to know the Father’s great mercy in the later years of their lives – or even in the final moments of life.  Let us rejoice that they were lost and now have come to know salvation.  Praise be to God!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

