Transfigured by the Sabbath

As a working woman, I find it sooooooo hard to get everything done in six days.  For five of those days, Monday through Friday, I spend eight hours at work, then I come home and my second job begins.  On Saturdays, we do a bit of housework, and run errands. We really try to do something as a family – if only for an hour or so.  That leaves me with Sunday. Big, big Sigh!

I believe that God gave us the rule about Sunday being a day of rest – not to cramp our style – but because He loves us.  He KNOWS our human nature – our human frailty.  He knows that we cannot GO GO GO 24/7.  The world we are living in nowadays is far too busy.

I know my limitations.  When I was younger, I used to fight them, but now I’ve accepted my weakness.  I do not have the stamina to be on the move for twelve hours a day.  Sometimes, I feel guilty, because other people’s children are involved in activities outside of school.  I don’t want to live in the car – running kids from one practice to another.  I want my kids (and me too!) to have some time to simply be – to let our hair down so to speak.

Today, I took the day for myself.  Super mom syndrome caused me to feel a bit guilty for staying behind as my husband and children went off to my in-laws for lunch.  Sometimes, I have to hold out the STOP sign to the world and to myself!

Anyway, today has been “transfiguring” for me.  It started with mass which I was able to fully participate in and glean a lot from.  The homily really spoke to me.  I enjoyed singing songs of praise.  It was just good all around.

This afternoon I cooked five meals, so that we would eat well and eat healthy this week (Which looks as if it will be another hectic one!)  I enjoyed the preparation since I wasn’t in a hurry to get it to the table.  I savored the different aromas of:  tandoori chicken; Caribbean pork chops; spaghetti sauce with sausage, red wine and black olives; rosemary and garlic pork roast and stuffed bell peppers with seasoned Italian breadcrumbs.  My kitchen smelled divine.

Then I went out to my little Garden of Eden that I’m building in my backyard.  I found that some zinnia seeds that I had planted have started to sprout!!  I re-potted some plants and cleaned my back porch.  Now I’m sitting on that back porch listening to the soothing sound of relaxing music through the den’s open window, the honk of Canadian geese in the pond and the trickling of the water flowing over the rocks in my fountain.  God be   praised for all the beauty He has created and for the Sabbath rest.

Let me show you a picture of two of the flowers blooming in my back yard right now – the first is Columbine and the second is Passion Flower.  Aren’t they gorgeous?

101_3404 101_3396

 

 

 

I now feel much like Peter, James and John probably felt when up on that mountain with Jesus.  I’m guessing that they didn’t want to leave and go back to “work.”  They had seen a foretaste of heaven in that Transfiguration of Christ.  I’m sure they wanted to hang onto that, just like I’d like to hang onto this afternoon’s time of relaxation for much, much longer!!

Tomorrow , it’s back to the grind.  Thank You, God, for this time to recharge!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, Inspirational, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Transfigured by the Sabbath

  1. sarahsiders says:

    Oh that’s so beautiful. I only have one child and a hubby, but as a working mom, I can totally relate. It’s so easy to just get stuck in the momentum and lose your soul. I’m so glad you got yourself back. It’s amazing what a few hours can do, along with the reminder that saying “No” is worth it – so very worth it – next time you’re tempted to just go along with the activity.

  2. Felix says:

    Our Lord has warned through a saint ( don’t know who it is ) that there is a special punishment for those who don’t keep the Sabbath.

  3. Edgar says:

    Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be
    aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

