What Do You Believe?

imagesThis morning I was pondering the question, “What do I really believe?” – What am I willing to fight for?

I came up with this list, which is not exhaustive.  What do you truly believe?

Do you believe that what you believe defines who you are?

I believe…

In God, in Jesus Christ our Savior, and in the Holy Spirit

In the dignity of every human being – made in God’s image

That Jesus is truly physically present in the Eucharist

In the power of prayer and in miracles

That God communicates with us in whispers and in booms

In the power of love to transform and uphold

In the healing power of forgiveness

That humans should be loved and things should be used – not vice versa

That knowledge is power and ignorance is not necessarily bliss

God alone gives true joy and true peace

That every child can learn

That there is good somewhere in every person

In everything the Catholic Church teaches as instructed from the Pope

That God is faithful and ever present to His faithful

When I was brainstorming, my mind was drawn back to a song we used to sing at school masses as a child:

It brought a smile to my face.

I believe in the sun, even when it isn’t shining
I believe in love, even when there’s no one there;
and I believe in God; I believe in God,
even when God is silent.

I believe in miracles, I believe in light.
I believe there can always be a way,
I believe that nothing is impossible,
I believe that nothing is impossible;
That all things are possible with God.

I believe in the Son of God; I believe His Way.
I believe He can lead us to the light,
I believe that He is calling us,
I believe that He is calling us;
And He will lead us on our way.

by Carey Landry

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Christian Music, eucharist, faith, Faith & Children, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

