Reflection on the Gospel for Sunday, February 17th, 2013

Readings for Sunday, February 17, 2013

weeping817This past week, I’ve been reading the visions of the Venerable Anne Catherine Emmerich.  I was particularly delving into the early years of Jesus – referred to as the “hidden years” since we don’t hear anything about Jesus from the finding in the temple until He begins His ministry in the bible.

I was struck by the destitution and struggles of the Holy family when they were in exile in Egypt on the run from Herod.  People were downright mean to them.  Sometimes Mary and Joseph had difficulty finding food.  Sometimes, Joseph had no work.

The Holy Family really does understand the plight of the poor and middle class trying to make ends meet – trying to feed and educate children.  It’s often scary stuff!  I will bring my fears to the Holy Family who has been there done that!  God never let them starve – He brought them through just as He brought Jesus through the temptation in the desert.

Jesus, our Savior, suffered hunger in the desert.  Can you imagine His discomfort – even agony – His loneliness?  Who better to bring our weakness, or hunger, our loneliness to?  He gets it.  He empathizes.  He will walk us through it.  (Can you tell that I’m talking myself up here?)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

