Working on It!

Those of you who know me know that I LOVE to garden. I am never happier than when I am out in the sunshine covered in dirt! What I don’t enjoy is digging a new bed.  It’s tough work separating the grass from the clay!  Anyway, I’m making progress!

The best part is that I brought cuttings and bulbs that I separated from my garden at my old home to begin my new one here.  We are supposed to have a light freeze tonight.  Oh, I do hope my babies survive!  In my Mary garden, I have mexican sage, agapanthus, pink daylilies and daisies.  We planted a flowering crabapple tree and buried the ashes of our sweet Nicky beneath it.

My other garden will have a birdbath (the base is broken – must get a new one).  It will be a butterfly garden with milkweed, dill, lantana and zinnias (when in season).  My digging (you can see where I started)  got thrwarted by the rain this Wednesday – waiting for the dirt to dry out a bit to continue.  I hope to photograph lots of butterfly visitors there!

101_3074

101_3077 101_3072

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, photo entry, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Working on It!

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Is that a big pond in your garden? You will have water birds! Perhaps I can see one in the second photo. I’m no good with bird names, except for our most popular birds like magpies and cockatoos and kookaburras.

    I always enjoyed looking at your photos of your old garden. I’m looking forward to seeing your new one. I guess it was a bit difficult leaving your old garden behind. Taking cuttings was such a great idea!

    God bless!

    • danardoyle says:

      It’s not really in my backyard. It’s green space for the neighborhood, but my yard backs up to it. I am truly enjoying the water birds. I’ve never seen a magpie or kookaburra – except in pictures – maybe one at the zoo. Here we’ve seen egrets, pelicans, wild turkey, Canadian geese, and heron. Most of my cuttings seem to be thriving – It’s good to have a bit of the old with the new.

Leave a Reply

