Putting Things in Perspective

DSC00005These past two weeks, we have sifted through all of our belongings to make “give away,” “throw away” and “pack it” piles.  It’s amazing, as simple a people we think we are, we surely have accumulated a lot of stuff in the past ten years.  Packing to move is tiring.  I’m growing weary of living among the boxes and big Rubbermaid tubs.  I long to paint new walls and hang my family photos and religious pictures up at the new place.  A house just doesn’t feel like a home when it is barren – devoid of personal touches and reminders.

I was feeling a bit “blue,” until I read about a young man from our archdiocese who traveled to Haiti to help out with the rebuilding process.  His willingness to give of his time, money and energy to help these people was truly inspiring.  He plans to study medicine and to go back to the small island country to share his knowledge with the people there.

It’s been awhile since Haiti was in the news following the devastating earthquake.  I confess that I have almost forgotten about their desperate plight.  This young man said that most still do not have electricity.  The churches where they once worshiped and received Jesus were destroyed.  In order to get clean water, they have to walk for miles.

I bet they wouldn’t mind my boxes and Rubbermaid tubs – a welcomed trade for running water, and electricity.  Oh the little things that bother us so…and the things we take for granted.  Many would love to have four blank walls to look at – to protect them from the elements.

In Christ, we are all brothers and sisters.  When we who have been so blessed begin to feel overwhelmed by our circumstances, we need only stop to ponder the lives of others around the world who are truly struggling to get their basic needs met.  It puts things in perspective.

When I took my bath tonight, I gave thanks for the cleanness of the water.  I gave thanks that it came to me – as easy as turning a knob.  I gave thanks that it was warm and relaxing.  I prayed for those who still have to carry their water.

I may not be called to leave the country (being a mom and a teacher with children counting on me), but I can do something.  I think I will pray about this tonight.  Hopefully, God will give me an answer:) Unknown

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Putting Things in Perspective

  1. rosalyn2012 says:

    This sure put our own empty walls and house into perspective for me. Your writing really touches my heart. I may share this on my blog if you don’t mind.

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Does all the packing mean you have sold your house and found another home suitable to buy? When do you move? We have moved many times. Yes, it is very tiring but it’s a wonderful feeling when all the work is done, and we are settled, ready for new adventures. I bet your son can’t wait for the day he has his own room!

    God bless!

    • danardoyle says:

      He is so proud of his new room! He has even been sleeping in it all by himself – he hasn’t slept alone since he was a baby. This is an adventure for us. God is soooo good!

      • Sue Elvis says:

        Dana,

        We receive so much joy just from seeing our children so happy. I am so pleased everything has worked out for your family. May God bless you in your new home.

Leave a Reply

