Reflection on the Epiphany, Sunday, January 6th

Readings for Sunday, January 6th, 2013

HP_Epiphany_08

“The magi set out because of a deep desire which prompted them to leave everything and begin a journey.  It was as thought they had always been waiting for that star.”              (Pope Benedict XVI)

It’s sad in our materialistic culture today that the lights and decorations for Christmas go up so early in the stores that by the time Christmas arrives, we are tired of the festive, and ready to put it all away.  I am glad that tomorrow – the feast of the Epiphany – is here to remind us that we should still be rejoicing in the coming of the Christ Child!

The quote from Pope Benedict above reminded me of the journey that my family is about to embark upon – a move – following God’s guidance into the next chapter of our lives.  It’s a bit scary, as it involves detachment from the familiar.   Beginning a new chapter is also exhilarating – new pages to write together.   One thing that is a constant, and gives us the courage to do this, is God’s faithfulness and presence.  He is not a distant God, but the head of our family.

I wonder if the wise men felt exhilarated (or just plain exhausted) as they followed that star.  I wonder if they felt fearful for leaving their homeland – not knowing when they would return.  One thing is for sure.  They were driven by a deep desire to see where God was leading them – to see whom God was leading them to.

If you are searching for God in your life, you need not travel far like the magi did to find Him.  He is as close to you as the beating of your heart.

…Try to still yourself for a few minutes and listen…  Read the account of the Epiphany in Matthew’s gospel…Let the words and imagery soak into your brain…Feel God’s peace wash over you like a warm blanket.  Imagine it filling every cell in your body…  In your mind’s eye, hold that precious baby Jesus in your arms.  Offer Him all that you have and all that you are.  Treasure that time alone with Him…

May the Christ Child bless you and draw you nearer to Himself with each passing day.

P.S.  “The Star of Bethlehem,”  is an excellent documentary on the actual star that guided the magi.  I’m attaching the video HERE if you are interested.  It is an hour-long, but fascinating.  Enjoy!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Christmas, faith, Inspirational, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on the Epiphany, Sunday, January 6th

  1. Felix says:

    Another inspiring reflection. Every night, I reverently take the baby Jesus from the crib and gently hold HIM for several minutes. Oh! What a joy it brings me!! Lemme go take a look at the video. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

