God Uses the Telephone (and Others!)

images-1The last few months have been extremely stressful for me and for my family.  Prayerfully, we put our home up for sale in order to try to purchase a home with an extra bedroom for my youngest son who has never really had a space to call his own.  I have had very mixed feelings about digging up roots again, because the neighbors (now dear friends) in my present neighborhood are the best in the world!  They are caring, considerate, loving people who look out for one another and even pray for one another.  Meeting this incredible group of people has been such a blessing in my life.  It’s a once in a lifetime kind of connection that can never be duplicated or replaced.  I will keep in touch with them but will miss seeing them on a daily basis.

Anyway, in all of the hubbub of selling and buying, packing and planning, I feel I have lost my connection to God somewhat.  Normally, I feel so close to Him, but lately I have felt a disconnect.  I know that it is me who has turned away – not my loving and faithful Father.

Just yesterday morning, I was calling multiple companies trying desperately to get a quote on homeowner’s insurance for our new place.  I needed it (basically) for cheap, so as to keep our future housenote in an affordable range.  I called and called and could only get a quote that would raise our note $55 – a significant deviation from what we had hoped.  I began for a moment to question and to despair.  Did I pray hard enough about this decision to move?  What if we’ve chosen the wrong house?  the wrong time?  How were we going to swing this note?

Then I began to talk to God.  “Father, if I’ve misread the signs, please straighten me out.  Help me to trust You.  Help us to make this work if it so truly be Your Will.”  I then let it go, and busied myself with the many other things that had to be done.  At 4:30 p.m., while preparing dinner,  I received a call from a woman – from a legitimate well-known company – who quoted me the most wonderful (do-able) price for homeowners.  God had answered my prayer through the telephone and through that agent.  Once I let go, He continued to work on my “problem.”  He is so good!

I mentioned earlier that I had been feeling a bit distant from God lately.  I try to read the readings of the day, and can barely concentrate.  I seem to be clinging more to rote prayers, as my own heartfelt words have seemed more difficult to come by.

Normally, I have my phone turned to silent during school hours while I am working.  This morning, I must have forgotten to silence the ringer.  At about 20 minutes before I was to teach my first class, a friend that I had not talked to in months called to share some spiritual excitement.  She had recently begun the consecration to Jesus through Mary.  She said that she is getting so much through the daily meditations in this particular (modernized) version of St. Louis de Montfort’s work.  She feels so much closer to Christ, and wanted to share it with me!  I felt so renewed in hope and happy for her.

Again, I think that God spoke to me using the telephone and a wonderful friend.  Do you suppose He was inviting me to return to Him emotionally?  Do you think that He might be inviting me to consecrate myself to Him through this devotion?  He knew that I needed some spiritual encouragement, and He provided it in the most wonderful of ways.  Hmmm.  Sometimes His ways are not so mysterious!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to God Uses the Telephone (and Others!)

  1. Jennifer Johns says:

    Dana, this was such a beautiful and exciting post to read. I honestly feel that God was giving you “opportunities” to return to him emotionally. Our God is so loving, caring, and AMAZING!! Congratulations on the home!!!!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    “She had recently begun the consecration to Jesus through Mary.” I have been thinking of doing this consecration too! A couple of days ago I ordered Fr Gaitley’s book, 33 Days to Morning Glory. This consecration keeps popping up on different blogs and websites, and now I am reading about it here on your blog. Perhaps God is telling me something too. “Do you think that He might be inviting me to consecrate myself to Him through this devotion?” Yes!

    May God bless you in this coming year!

    • danardoyle says:

      Sue, This is the same book my friend is using. How exciting! Maybe God is trying to tell us all something! God’s blessings to you and yours, too! I’ve been so busy lately that I’ve not blogged much. Seems strange to say (since we’ve never actually met) but I miss you, Sue! So glad you left me this message! Dana

      • Sue Elvis says:

        Dana,

        Today someone invited me to join a Facebook event, Total Consecration to Our Lady (33 day prayer). I sent you an invitation to join us. All these signs, Dana. “Do you think that He might be inviting me to consecrate myself to Him through this devotion?” What do you think??

        I miss you too, Dana. I know you have been so busy with your new house plans and school. Always good to catch up with you.

        God bless!

      • danardoyle says:

        Sue, I’m back on line and getting settled! Praise God. If I could only shake this head cold, I’d be doing great! I recently met with my friend here who is doing the consecration. I saw the date on the consecration invite you sent me. Does that mean that since I missed the beginning that I have to wait (all the way) until next year? I was thinking of doing it in summer when I can really spend quiet time each morning in reflection and journaling. AND Yes, I definitely think that God is speaking to you:)

  3. Felix Raj says:

    What a wonderful God we have!!

  4. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I think you can start the consecration to Mary at any time, but the recommended time is 33 days before one of the major feasts of Mary. You could start on Feb 20th and make the consecration on March 25th, the Annunciation.

    I am now on day 16, and the book “33 Days to Morning Glory” is wonderful! Some people have described it as life changing. I can see why.

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

