Solomon

UnknownStrangely, the name Solomon keeps coming up for me in unexpected places.  What could it be that God is trying to tell me?  I know that Solomon was a king in the Old Testament – the son of David and Bathsheba.  I know that when God asked him what he would like to have from God, he wisely replied only, “wisdom,” therefore God blessed Solomon with unsurpassed wisdom and a whole lot more!  I also know that in the end, even Solomon messed up, and his kingdom that was once so wonderful began to fall apart.

The name Solomon is Hebrew means “peace.”  The second reading at mass today is one of my all time favorites – I guess because I’m a type A personality to a certain degree and that my life is stressful. Don’t we all suffer from high levels of stress in these times?  To hear God promise His peace through His word is so refreshing to my ears – and to my soul on a deep, deep level.

Brothers and sisters:
Rejoice in the Lord always.
I shall say it again: rejoice!
Your kindness should be known to all.
The Lord is near.
Have no anxiety at all, but in everything,
by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving,
make your requests known to God.
Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding
will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.  (Philippians 4: 4-7)

Jesus is coming, but He is also already here with us – ever-present – as close to us as the very beating of our own hearts.  For just awhile, stop the frantic shopping – put down the wrapping paper and scissors.  Take some time to feel the pulsation of your own heart.  If you are very still and quiet, you can almost hear it.  That is where Christ dwells.  Our love with Him is indeed most intimate.  Tapping into His presence, we can allow Him to flood our restless insides with PEACE.

images-2

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solomon

  1. Jennifer Johns says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

