The Answer for Families

“Welcome the presence of the Heart of Christ, entrusting your home to Him. Before the open Heart of Jesus seek to draw from Him the true love that our families need to build up a civilization of love.”   John Paul II

Readings for Today
I am truly convinced that the answer for all families struggling with the pull of world today is the Enthronement of the Sacred Heart of Jesus.  A few years ago, our family consecrated our home to the Sacred Heart.  We invited a priest to come into our home, to lead us in prayer and to bless our image of Jesus – and all the rooms of our house as well.  We formally made Jesus King of our home.  I’m not going to say that everything has been made easier.  To follow Christ is certainly to pick up one’s cross.  There has been a sense of peace that has pervaded our home, however.  I attribute that fully to Jesus.

Recently, our realtor told us that she advised taking down all religious images in our home, to make the home appealing to a wider range of people.  With great trepidation, I followed her advise.  After a couple of weeks, my husband and my son, commented that they missed seeing Jesus’ face hanging above our mantle.  I confessed that I too missed the visual reminder of His presence.  We decided to put Jesus back where He belonged, regardless of whether potential buyers approve.

I learned about the Enthronement a few summers ago in a mysterious way.  (God usually reveals His Will for me in a long series of “clues.”)  If you are interested in learning more, please follow the links I have imbedded in this post, and also read my older post entitled, “Crowley Calling.”  Fr. Mateo Crawley Boevey, “trailblazer for the Sacred Heart,  was convicted that the answer for all families was to formally make Jesus the King of their homes.  Fr. Boevey traveled the globe promoting the devotion to the Sacred Heart as revealed to St. Margaret Mary. In today’s crazy, mixed-up world, our families can use all the extra graces we can get to keep us grounded in the things everlasting.

Sacred Heart of Jesus, Pray for us!  Jesus, King of Our hearts and homes, bring peace and healing to our families!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Informational, Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

