Do We Spend as Much Time Praying as We do Worrying?

My life as of late has been a whirlwind of activity and emotion – far too busy for my taste!  I miss being able to write on a daily basis and to catch up on some of my favorite blogs.  I miss watching the birds feed in the backyard.  Today, I’ve been given a gift – a day off – so I’m trying to make sure that I fit in some of those favorite things while I have the time.

In the wake of the emotional and physical roller coaster ride that I’ve been on, I was thinking this morning of how to regroup.  I asked myself the question, ” Have I spent as much time praying about all of the tests and trials that have been bothering me as I have spent worrying about them?  The answer was a pitiful, “No.”

A couple of bible verses come to mind:

Matthew 6:25-34   Therefore I say unto you, be not anxious for your life, what you shall eat, or what you shall drink; nor yet for your body, what you shall put on. Is not the life more than the food, and the body than the raiment? Behold the birds of the heaven, that they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; and your heavenly Father feeds them. Are not you of much more value then they? And which of you by being anxious can add one cubit unto the measure of his life? …

Colossians 1:9   “For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray and make request for you, that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding.”

Yes, I do believe that God is in control.  Again and again He has shown me of His ever-present faithfulness, providence and love.  It involves prayerful surrender – trust.  Often, it is only when looking back that I can see the amazing way He has been at work – putting all parts of the puzzle of my life together.

From God Calling by A.J. Russell:  ” Looking back you will see that every step was planned.  Leave it all to Me.  Each stone in the mosaic fits into the perfect pattern designed by the Master Artist… But the colors are of Heaven’s Hues, so that your eyes could not bear to gaze on the whole, until you are beyond the veil.  So stone by stone, you see, and trust the pattern to the Designer.”

Today, I’m promising myself that I will pray much more than I worry.  Worrying is a useless waste of time.  Prayer is time very well invested.  What do you need to surrender to Jesus today? 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Do We Spend as Much Time Praying as We do Worrying?

  1. maggie says:

    Hope your day off was fruitful! I think I’m turning into a worrier, so thanks for this reminder. Think I’ll pray myself to sleep instead of browsing Pinterest 🙂

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I hope you enjoyed your day and feel refreshed. I love the quote. The mosiacs are beautiful too. I’ve been pondering how to prevent Advent turning into a season of whirlwind activity. So much needs to be done. I tend to worry I’ll never get everything done. I shall make sure I pray.

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

