Don’t Steal My Sunshine!

The last few mornings, I’ve been out the door at 6:30 a.m. in a whirlwind of confusion, frustration and aggravation.  I had not felt this way only an hour earlier when I had awakened to a calm, darkened, quiet house.  I felt at peace as I sipped my coffee and read the daily scripture passages.  What had happened in less than an hour?  I let my children steal my peace.

Every mom or dad knows what I’m talking about – the last minute requests, plans, problems that kids “forget” to explain the night before, but conveniently remember as you are about to walk out the door.  Why do I let them do it?   I can’t say that they make me frustrated or angry or crazy, but I ALLOW them to steal my sacred morning peace.  Then I get in the car and have to deal with inconsiderate drivers!  Ugh!

If you are suffering from the same scenario just as you are heading off to work in the morning, try these tips for restoring your sense of well being and joy, so that you arrive at the office in a good frame of mind, ready to face the challenges and blessings of the day:

#1 Pray a prayer repetitively – Even and especially if your mind continues to go back to         the cause of aggravation.  Refocus and try again.  Keep praying until you are able to remain focused on the words and on God.

#2 Turn on the radio and search the stations until you find an anthem that you can sing passionately along to.  For me this morning, it was Pink – Who Knew?  “…If someone said three years from now you’d be long gone, I’d stand up and punch them out…”  Doesn’t sound very Christian, I know, but it was  therapeutic and cathartic for sure!  I released the frustration in song.  Try it!

#3  When you arrive at work, take a deep breath – in through your nose – hold it a second – and out through your mouth.  Do this three times before even getting out of the car.

#4 As you step out of the car, look for God’s peace in nature – If it’s raining, look at the rain, feel the rain, listen to the rain.  Experience it.  Thank God for it.  If the sun is coming up, look at the dew on the grass, listen to the chirping birds, notice the color of the sky.  Nature is not stressed.  It follows a rhythm.  Thank God for it.

#5  You’re just about ready to tackle a new day, but you’re not flying solo.  Remember that God is with you.   Thank God for filling you again with His peace – and don’t forget to thank Him for the little darling(s) that He has blessed you with – the ones that drive you nuts, but somehow,  you can’t wait to see again at the end of the day!!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

