A Very Special Name

With All Saints Day coming up, I’ve been thinking about the saints in my own life, and the saints in the lives of my children.  I pray that parents, when deciding on a name for their baby, would #1 pray about it – it is not a decision to be made lightly! And #2, choose a saint’s name as one (or more) of the child’s name.  This is my humble opinion, as a mother of three.

I will admit that I did not come to this conclusion overnight – but over the course of twenty one years of parenting.  With our first child, we named him after his father.  That was fairly easy!  Luckily, his father had a good, strong name – with a good strong saint for a middle name – Joseph – the foster-father of Jesus – a man who desired the Will of God above his own honor or comfort – a man of honor – a man of sacrifice – a hard-working dad.With my second child, I had begun to listen to God’s voice in my heart.  I believe that God had a lot of influence on our choice of a name for our baby girl.  Her name kept coming up in songs, on television and in dreams.  She is named after the mother of Mary, and St. Elizabeth – there are 3 great Elizabeths that come to the top of my head – John the Baptist’s mother, Seton and Hungary.  All amazing – strong but humble women.

With my last child, I knew his name before we even had his gender confirmed.  I knew in my heart that our family was missing a member, and that his name would be John.  We opened our hearts and home to another child as we approached 40.  He is named after John the Baptist and St. Anthony of Padua – amazing men who brought others to Christ.

The reason that I believe a saint’s name is so critical is three-fold – It gives the child a heavenly friend to call upon.   It provides a strong Christian/Catholic identity for the child as he/she grows in the faith. Lastly,  it gives parents a heavenly helpmate in guiding the child through life on earth to eternal life in heaven.

My children (and students)  have loved learning about the saints for whom they were named.  It makes them feel special to be associated with such human yet holy people.  It gives them a very powerful role model on their own spiritual journeys.  I encourage my children to ask the prayers of their heavenly friends in times of trouble, confusion or even celebration.  Extra help is a good thing!As a parent, I have found the assistance gained for my children through the intercession of the saints whose name they bear invaluable. I feel that it gives my child another line of defense against the dangers of this world.  It gives me a sense of peace to know that my kids have yet another ally in heaven rooting for them until they cross that finish line into paradise.

If you are praying to have a child, or are already expecting a bundle of joy, I ask you to please think about what I have suggested.  Pray about it.  Just see where God leads you.

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you.”  Jeremiah 1:5

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Faith & Children, parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Very Special Name

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I enjoyed your post!

    I was looking through the list of names in your image. There are a few Catholic names hidden there though most people might not immediately see them. We have a friend called Chloe, but spelt Cloe. She was named after St Clotilde.

    Of all the 16 names we chose for our children only one isn’t a Catholic name. (I have to admit that I didn’t really think about Catholic names for our first two children so it is fortunate they ended up with some!) There is no St Duncan as far as I know. Duncan has a good strong second name though: James. Some of my children’s names are different forms of traditional names eg Callum is a form of Columba.

    Names are really interesting and as you said, very important. It is good to know so many saints are praying for us and helping us on our way to heaven.

    My middle name is Caroline so I have adopted St Charles Borromeo as my patron saint. I wonder what saint you feel closest to, Dana.

    God bless!

  2. pattyabr says:

    Sophia means Wisdom as in an Old Testament reading a few Sundays back Wisdom was referred to as a “She” the visiting priest pointed out.

Leave a Reply

