Healings

The gospels these past few days have been filled with healings – the blind, the deaf, the man with the withered hand.  My first thoughts about all of these examples of Christ working miracles is to give thanks that I have all of my senses and mental faculties (though some may disagree:)

My eyes may be weaker than they were ten years ago.  My arms may be itching me like crazy!! (Stress)  My feet may ache after a long day.  I may not remember all that I’ve learned in school.  My skin may be less than pristine…BUT… I can see; I can walk; I can think and reason; I can feel.  Thank God!  Thank God for the feet that get me where I need to go, the eyes to see Him in the faces of those I meet each day, the vision to read and respond to His word.  Praise Him for my weathered hands that help me to help others – to help myself for that matter!   How richly blessed I am!

Someone told me of a miraculous healing that occurred in her son’s life recently.  I’d like to share briefly – This woman’s son has a very bad accident on the sports field.  He had to have 30+ stitches in his mouth.  He was at risk of losing some of his permanent teeth.  A couple of weeks ago, the dentist checked his progress and determined that he would need to have four root canals in order to save four teeth.  The existing roots were basically dead.  The extensive dental work was scheduled for the following week.

Then, Hurricane Isaac hit Louisiana, resulting in flooding and widespread power outages.  The root canals had to be postponed.  In the meantime, the family kept requesting the prayers of Mother Mary.  When the boy went in to have the root canals, the roots had magnificently regenerated.  The dentist was astonished, and said that this “Never happens!”  A modern-day miracle!

God loves us and walks with us through good and bad times.  He is an ever-present, loving Father who cares about us spiritually as well as physically and mentally.  He is still performing miracles every day!  I know that He has worked several miracles in my life.  What has He done in your life?

Praise God for miracles – big and small!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Inspirational, miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

