Happy Birthday, Mother Mary!

Today we celebrate the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mother.  Tradition tells us that her parents were Ann and Joachim.  It also tells us that God chose Mary and created her without sin so that she would be the perfect vessel to bring our Savior, Jesus into the world.  Mary was the first Tabernacle.

Thank you, Mother Mary, for your “Yes,” to God.  You trusted God so completely, even though you knew that what He was asking of you would be so very hard.  Help us to say “Yes” to God without reservation.  Help us to trust Him in all things –  completely  – as you did.  Happy Birthday, Heavenly Mother.

Yesterday, in all of my classes, we shared cupcakes and sang “Happy birthday to Mary.”  Yes, even seventh graders aren’t too old for this!!  We offered our Blessed Mother prayers and acts of kindness as spiritual gifts that any mother would love!  Perhaps those of you with children could do something similar today to celebrate this wonderful feast with your kids:)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, faith, Faith & Children, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday, Mother Mary!

  1. I really like your birthday prayer. From the heart. I also fancy the idea of sharing cupcakes with those you teach..a really cool idea!

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    We’re never too old for celebrating Mother Mary’s birthday with cake! It must be so rewarding sharing the Faith with so many young people.

    God bless you!

  3. Brock says:

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this
    blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

