Getting Prepared

Here in Louisiana, we’re hunkering down in preparation for “Hurricane Isaac” – still a tropical storm, but forecasted to become a category 1 hurricane by landfall late tonight. When I got off of work yesterday afternoon, I went to Kmart.  I was so fortunate as to pull up just as a truck was dropping off a fresh shipment of bottled water.  I had gone to Winn Dixie Market the night before, and the shelves were empty – no bread and no water.  Yikes!

Last night, my husband got off of work early, and my eldest came in from college.  We all went into high gear clearing the yard of possible projectiles – lawn furniture, bird feeders, hanging baskets, basketball goals, garbage cans, potted plants, etc.  Below is a picture of my cement St. Francis statue that we laid face down so that he doesn’t get blown over. After yard preparations,  we shared a nice, warm family dinner.  If we lose power during the storm, we might not get a “real” hot meal for a few days. Hot dogs and Spaghetti O’s may be the main fare.

This morning, when I awakened, I lay in bed talking to God for almost an hour.  Of course, I said a prayer to Our Lady of Prompt Succor – the title for Mary as protector against fire and storms here in New Orleans.  A friend of mine posted this prayer to OLPS on Facebook yesterday:  “Our Father in Heaven through the intercession of Our Lady of Prompt Succor, spare us during this Hurricane season from all harm. Protect us and our homes from all disasters of nature. Our Lady of Prompt Succor, hasten to help us. We ask this through Christ our Lord. Amen.” 

I turned on the television to get the 7 a.m. update on the storm by the National Hurricane Center (I miss you David Bernard!). 

 

As I sat in the window sipping my coffee, I watched as the birds came to the Mayhaw tree.  They kept swooping down, confused, because I had dismantled the bird bath they have come to depend upon, and removed their bird feeder.  They were searching for breakfast.  Poor fellows!  As I went out in the backyard, the birds scattered. I put the bird bath top on the ground and filled it with water.  I sprinkled some sunflower seeds as well.  Soon, they came back, one by one, to feast and to bathe.  I wonder if they know that a storm is coming, and that they too will soon need to hunker down. It felt so good to be able to help my little feathered friends.

I’m planning to go take a walk around the neighborhood to get out of the house while I still can.  By late this afternoon, the first bands of the storm are supposed to come inland, and the torrential rains and wind will keep us captive.   If the internet holds up through this evening, I will post again.  Take care, everyone!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

