It was a Nun!

My little man dried off and called me to come see his bathtub creation.  He asked me to guess what it was.  I suppose he could tell that I was clueless, so he proudly announced, “It’s a nun.  See her face here. See her hat wrapped around her head – how it goes down her back?”  I was thinking to myself, “How does he know what a nun looks like?”  Sadly, he has seen so few in his short lifetime.  He said, “You know the ones on TV every night.”  He was referring to Mother Angelica and her nuns at the Poor Clare monastery in Hanceville, Alabama.  We often say the rosary with them at 8:30 while we are trying to settle down for bed. (Our alarm clock goes off at 5 a.m. each morning!)  He had noticed and was thinking of these beautiful women who have given their lives entirely to God.   I sure wish that we had more nuns living among us.  Just seeing them in habit is a reminder of our own call to holiness.  Let’s pray for an increase in religious vocations to the Church.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Faith & Children, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It was a Nun!

  1. SR says:

    LOVE IT!!!! WHAT A HOOT! ONLY FROM THE MOUTH OF BABES. WHAT A WONDERFUL STORY. GOD BLESS, SR

Leave a Reply

