Some Thoughts on Today’s Readings, Saturday, June 30th

An excerpt from the first reading from Lamentations:

The Lord has consumed without pity
all the dwellings of Jacob;
He has torn down in his anger
the fortresses of daughter Judah;
He has brought to the ground in dishonor
her king and her princes…Worn out from weeping are my eyes,
within me all is in ferment;
My gall is poured out on the ground
because of the downfall of the daughter of my people,
As child and infant faint away
in the open spaces of the town.

In vain they ask their mothers,
“Where is the grain?”
As they faint away like the wounded
in the streets of the city,
And breathe their last
in their mothers’ arms.

I don’t want to be a major downer today, but when I read today’s 1st reading, I couldn’t help but think of the state of our country and our world.

Our world has plunged into a new level of darkness, denial of God and just plain apathy.  I’m surprised that God has not shown His wrath yet, as was described in Lamentations.

I do believe that  Jesus will return to set all things right again, but that it is going to get worse before it gets better.  Are we spiritually prepared for difficult times?  Are are children spiritually prepared – the generation who has come to expect a toy in their Happy Meal?  Perhaps, we can best prepare ourselves and our children through prayer and a bit of self-denial now.  Just a thought.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 7, 14 and 21. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

